News & Events

Seminars

News & Events

Seminars are held in Hutchison Hall, on the River Campus. (Campus map) Contact the Department of Biology at 273-1139 at least three days in advance to request any special accommodations or if you would like to meet with an outside speaker. Refreshments provided.

To be added to our mailing list, please email brenna.rybak@rochester.edu.

Thursday, January 28, 2016
3:30 p.m.

Dr. Benjamin Carone, Williams College

"Investigation into the Mechanisms Underlying Transgenerational Inheritance in Mammals"

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140

Monday, February 1, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. David Hillis, University of Texas at Austin

“The tree of life and evolution of animal nervous systems”

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Thursday, February 4, 2016
3:30 p.m.

Dr. Colleen Skau, National Institutes of Health

"Novel roles of formin actin nucleators in cell adhesion and motility"

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140

Thursday, February 11, 2016
3:30 p.m.

Dr. Hao Duong, Harvard Medical School

"The circadian clock and its roles in the aging process"

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140

Monday, February 22, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. Hannah Seidel, University of Wisconsin-Madison

"Nutritional control of germline stem cells in C. elegans"

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140

Thursday, February 25, 2016
3:30 p.m.

Dr. Daniel Bergstralh, University of Cambridge

"Keeping it Together: How Division and Reintegration Ensure Epithelial Integrity"

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140

Friday, March 18, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Mary Grantham, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316

Friday, March 25, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Emerson Khost, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316

Friday, April 1, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Ching-Ho Chang, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 4, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. David Angelini, Colby College

“Eco-evo-devo & morphogenomics: Integrative biology of wing polyphenism in a true bug”

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, April 8, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Binshuang Li, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 11, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. Yujiang Geno Shi, Harvard Medical School

"Toward understanding of environmental impact on cancer epigenome"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, April 15, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Romain Dahan, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 18, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. A. Elizabeth Arnold, University of Arizona

"Fungal endophytes from the tropics to the tundra: clues to the evolution of plant-fungal symbioses”

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, April 22, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Longjun Wu, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316

Friday, April 29, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Jeffrey Sosa Calvo, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316

Monday, May 2, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. Jef Boeke, NYU Langone Medical Center

“Building a genome from scratch”

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, May 6, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Adam Johnson, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316