News & Events

Seminars

News & Events

Seminars are held in Hutchison Hall, on the River Campus. (Campus map) Contact the Biology Department at 273-1139 at least 3 days in advance to request any special accommodations or if you would like to meet with an outside speaker. Refreshments provided.

To be added to our mailing list, please email brenna.rybak@rochester.edu.

Friday, February 6, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Katharina Dittmar, University at Buffalo

"Evolution and ecology of microbial associates of blood-feeding parasites of bats"

Hutchison 316

Friday, February 20, 2015
3:00 PM

Binshuang Li, University of Rochester

"Characterization of the locus controlling wing dimorphism in male pea aphids"

Hutchison 316

Monday, February 23, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Prasanna Satpute-Krishnan, National Institutes of Health

"ER stress-induced clearance of misfolded proteins via the secretory pathway"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Monday, March 2, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Harrison Gabel, Harvard Medical School

"The neuron-specific epigenome in development and disease"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, March 6, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Martine Zilversmit, Laboratory of Malaria and Vector Research

"The evolutionary genomics of malaria: mutation, duplication, and recombination"

Hutchison 316

Monday, March 9, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Subhash Katewa, Buck Institute for Research on Aging

"Peripheral circadian clocks, fat metabolism and aging in Drosophila"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Thursday, March 12, 2015
2:00 PM

Dr. Marco Demaria, Buck Institute for Research on Aging

"Cellular senescence: the good, the bad and the ugly"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Monday, March 16, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Victoria Meller, Wayne State University

"The long and the short of it:  non-coding RNA and whole chromosome recognition"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Thursday, March 19, 2015
2:00 PM

Dr. Peter Douglas, University of California at Berkeley

"Orchestrating Health and Aging across a Troubled Soma"

Gleason G318/G418

Monday, March 23, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Katie Pollard, Gladstone Institutes

"Massive data integration enables discovery of gene regulatory enhancers and their targets"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Thursday, March 26, 2015
12:45 PM

Dr. Amnon Koren, Harvard Medical School

"Genetic and epigenetic variation in human DNA replication timing and mutation rates"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Monday, March 30, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Celina Juliano, Yale University Stem Cell Center

"PIWI-piRNA pathway function in the stem cells of the “immortal” Hydra"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, April 3, 2015
3:00 PM

Cara Brand, University of Rochester

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 6, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Raul Mostoslavsky, Harvard University

"Linking metabolism with epigenetics and cancer: SIRT6 provides some clues"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, April 10, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Ronald Clouse, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

"The surprising histories of three leaf-litter arthropods in the Indo-Pacific: carpenter ants, harvestmen, and schizomids"

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 13, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Keith Clay, Indiana University

"Defensive symbiosis in plants and animals"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, April 17, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Philipp Messer, Cornell University

"Understanding the rapid evolution of pesticide and drug resistance"

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 20, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. William Bohr, National Institute on Aging

"Nuclear to mitochondrial DNA damage signaling and its role in age associated disease"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, April 24, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Kevin Thornton, University of California, Irvine

“Structural variation in Drosophila: lessons from recent resequencing studies”

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 27, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Tsan Sam Xiao, Case Western Reserve

"Mechanisms of nucleic acid sensing by innate immune receptors"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, May 1, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Gerald Wilkinson, University of Maryland

“Genomic conflict, sexual selection and speciation in stalk-eyed flies”

Hutchison 316

Friday, May 8, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Theodore Morgan, Kansas State University

"The evolutionary genomics of thermal acclimation traits in nature"

Hutchison 316

Friday, May 15, 2015
3:00 PM

Purba Gupta and Daniel Khost, University of Rochester

"Titles TBA"

Hutchison 316