News & Events

Seminars

News & Events

Seminars are held in Hutchison Hall, on the River Campus. (Campus map) Contact the Biology Department at 273-1139 at least 3 days in advance to request any special accommodations or if you would like to meet with an outside speaker. Refreshments provided.

To be added to our mailing list, please email brenna.rybak@rochester.edu.

Monday, September 29, 2014
12:00 PM

Dr. Thomas Begley, SUNY Albany

"tRNA’s modification systems and their use of a second genetic code to translationally regulate stress responses"

Hutchison 473

Monday, October 6, 2014
12:00 PM

Dr. Kenneth Kosik, University of California, Santa Barbara

"An Alzheimer gene crucible in the far mountains of Colombia"

Hutchison 473

Monday, October 20, 2014
12:05 PM

Dr. Eric Wieschaus, Princeton University

"Cellular mechanics and cell shape change during Drosophila gastrulation"

Schlegel Hall, Room S207

Monday, October 27, 2014
12:00 PM

Dr. Frederick Adler, University of Utah

"The ecology of disease interactions"

Hutchison 473

Monday, November 3, 2014
12:00 PM

Dr. Andrei Seluanov, University of Rochester

"Longevity and anti-cancer mechanisms in long-lived rodents"

Hutchison 473

Monday, November 10, 2014
12:00 PM

Dr. Daniel Sloan, Colorado State University

"Genome evolution under extreme mitochondrial mutation rates"

Hutchison 473

Monday, November 17, 2014
12:00 PM

Dr. Kathleen Collins, University of California at Berkeley

“Telomerase assembly, activation, and function at telomeres”

Hutchison 473

Friday, November 21, 2014
3:00 PM

Dr. Mrinalini, University of Rochester

"Venom evolution and function in parasitoid wasps"

Hutchison 316

Monday, November 24, 2014
12:00 PM

Dr. Morten Scheibye-Knudsen, National Institute on Aging

“Neurodegeneration in accelerated aging”

Hutchison 473

Monday, December 1, 2014
12:00 PM

Dr. Wei-Xing Zong, Stony Brook University

"Proteotoxic stress in oncogenesis and cancer therapy"

Hutchison 473

Friday, December 5, 2014
3:00 PM

Dr. Ellen Martinson, University of Rochester

"Microsporidial endochitinase gene recruited as a venom protein in parasitoid wasps"

Hutchison 316

Friday, January 30, 2015
3:00 PM

Longjun Wu, University of Rochester

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Friday, February 6, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Katharina Dittmar, University at Buffalo

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Friday, February 13, 2015
3:00 PM

Cara Brand, University of Rochester

"TBA”

Hutchison 316

Friday, February 20, 2015
3:00 PM

Binshuang Li, University of Rochester

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Friday, March 6, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Martine Zilversmit, Laboratory of Malaria and Vector Research

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Monday, March 16, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Victoria Meller, Wayne State University

"TBA"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, March 20, 2015
3:00 PM

Daniel Khost, University of Rochester

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Monday, March 23, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Katie Pollard, The Gladstone Institute

"TBA"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, March 27, 2015
3:00 PM

Purba Gupta, University of Rochester

“TBA”

Hutchison 316

Friday, April 3, 2015
3:00 PM

Jeffrey Vedanayagam, University of Rochester

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 6, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Raul Mostoslavsky, Harvard University

"TBA"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, April 10, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Ronald Clouse, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 13, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Keith Clay, Indiana University

"TBA"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, April 17, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Philipp Messer, Cornell University

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 20, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. William Bohr, National Institute on Aging

"TBA"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, April 24, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Kevin Thornton, University of California, Irvine

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Monday, April 27, 2015
12:00 PM

Dr. Samuel Xiao, Case Western Reserve

"TBA"

Lander Auditorium, Hutchison Hall

Friday, May 1, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Gerald Wilkinson, University of Maryland

"TBA"

Hutchison 316

Friday, May 8, 2015
3:00 PM

Dr. Theodore Morgan, Kansas State University

"TBA"

Hutchison 316