People

Faculty

People

This person's photo
Professor Emeritus
Office: Hutchison 483
Phone: (585) 275-8716
Email: tbannist@ur.rochester.edu
  • Research Inactive
Cheeptip Benyajati
Associate Professor; Director of UPBM
Office: Hutchison 474
Phone: (585) 275-8040
Email: cheeptip.benyajati@rochester.edu
  • Regulation of gene expression during development of Drosophila
  • Transcription, chromatin structure, and mechanisms of developmental chromatin structure remodeling
Xin Bi
Associate Professor
Office: Hutchison 307
Phone: (585) 275-6922
Email: xin.bi@mail.rochester.edu
  • Epigenetic regulation of eukaryotic gene expression
  • Structural and functional domains of the genome
  • Chromatin boundary elements
  • Gene silencing
This person's photo
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: Hutchison 326B
Phone: (585) 275-8392
Email: jennifer.brisson@rochester.edu
  • Evolution of morphology
  • Molecular basis of phenotypic plasticity
  • Evolution and development in the pea aphid
  • The role of epigenetics in polyphenism
Michael Clark
Lecturer
Office: Hutchison 444
Phone: (585) 275-3432
Email: michael.clark@rochester.edu
Professor Gloria Culver
Professor; Interim Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences
Office: Hutchison 310 - Biology Office
Phone: (585) 276-3602
Email: gloria.culver@rochester.edu
  • Macromolecular assembly
  • RNA-protein recognition
  • Dynamics of RNA folding
Professor Thomas H. Eickbush
Professor
Office: Hutchison 334A
Phone: (585) 275-7247
Email: thomas.eickbush@rochester.edu
  • Molecular biology and evolution
  • Integration of retrotransposable elements
  • Origin and evolution of mobile elements
  • Regulation of mRNA genes
This person's photo
Assistant Professor
Office: Medical Center 3-8555
Phone: (585) 275-3704
Email: dmitri_ermolenko@urmc.rochester.edu
  • Mechanisms of protein synthesis
  • Single–molecule microscopy
  • Mechanics of molecular motors
James Fry
Associate Professor
Office: Hutchison 318
Phone: (585) 275-7835
Email: james.fry@rochester.edu
  • Genetics of ecological adaptation in Drosophila
  • Evolutionary effects of deleterious mutations
  • Quantitative-genetic theory and methodology
Dragony Fu
Assistant Professor
Office: Hutchison 333
Phone: (585) 276-3346
Email: dragonyfu@rochester.edu
  • DNA repair mechanisms
  • Genotoxic stress response pathways
  • Programmed cell death
Daniel Garrigan
Assistant Professor
Office: Hutchison 319
Phone: (585) 276-4816
Email: daniel.garrigan@rochester.edu
  • Computational biology
  • Evolutionary biology
  • Genomics
Sina Ghaemmaghami
Assistant Professor
Office: Hutchison 326A
Phone: (585) 275-4829
Email: sghaemma@bio.rochester.edu
  • Protein folding and degradation
  • Neurodegenerative diseases and aging
  • Prion biology
  • Proteomics
David Goldfarb
Professor
Office: Hutchison 436
Phone: (585) 275-3890
Email: david.goldfarb@rochester.edu
  • Molecular cell biology of the nucleus
Vera Gorbunova
Professor of Biology; Associate Professor of Oncology
Office: Hutchison 434
Phone: (585) 275-7740
Email: vera.gorbunova@rochester.edu
  • Mechanisms of aging
  • Comparative biology of aging
  • Comparative biology of aging
  • DNA repair and genomic instability
  • Anticancer therapy
Rush Rhees Professor Emeritus Martin A Gorovsky
Rush Rhees Professor Emeritus
Email: m.gorovsky@rochester.edu
  • Research Inactive
Stanley M. Hattman
Professor Emeritus
Office: Hutchison 479
Phone: (585) 275-8046
Email: moddna@mail.rochester.edu
  • Research Inactive
This person's photo
Professor Emeritus
Office: Hutchison 315A
Email: david.hinkle@rochester.edu
  • Research Inactive
John Jaenike
Professor; Chair
Office: Hutchison 484
Phone: (585) 275-0009
Email: john.jaenike@rochester.edu
  • Ecology and evolution of host-parasite interactions
  • Sex chromosome meiotic drive
  • Wolbachia as male killers and causes of reproductive isolation in Drosophila
  • Ecology of mycophagous Drosophila
 J. David Lambert
Associate Professor
Office: Hutchison 344
Phone: (585) 273-2482
Email: dlamber2@ur.rochester.edu
  • The evolution of developmental mechanisms
  • Early patterning in molluscs and related groups
  • Cytoskeletal basis of asymmetric cell divisions
  • Evolution of novel phenotypes
Amanda Larracuente
Assistant Professor (Arriving January 2015)
Office: Hutchison 343
Phone: (585) 273-1693
Email: alarracu@bio.rochester.edu
  • Evolutionary genetics and genomics
  • Intragenomic conflict and the evolution of selfish DNA
  • Evolutionary and functional genomics of satellite DNA
  • Sex chromosome and dot chromosome evolution in Drosophila
Daniel McNabney
Lecturer
Office: Hutchison 477
Phone: (585) 275-8973
Email: daniel.mcnabney@rochester.edu
Associate Research Professor Robert L. Minckley
Senior Lecturer/Adjunct Assistant Professor
Office: Hutchison 446
Phone: (585) 275-0272
Email: rminckle@mail.rochester.edu
  • Ecology and evolution of host breadth in bees
  • Community structure of desert bees
  • Conservation biology of pollinators
This person's photo
Professor Emeritus
Office: Hutchison 315
  • Research Inactive
Anthony Olek
Senior Lecturer
Office: Hutchison 481
Phone: (585) 273-4876
Email: a.olek@rochester.edu
Joanna Olmsted
Dean Emerita of the School of Arts and Sciences
Email: joanna.olmsted@rochester.edu
Allen Orr
University Professor/Shirley Cox Kearns Professor
Office: Hutchison 342
Phone: (585) 275-3838
Email: allen.orr@rochester.edu
  • Genetics of speciation in Drosophila
  • Genetics and theory of adaptation
  • Population genetics
Douglas Portman
Associate Professor
Office: KMRB 2-9647
Phone: (585) 275-7414
Email: douglas.portman@rochester.edu
  • Genetics of development and behavior in C. elegans
  • Neural cell fate specification
  • Sex differences in neural circuit function
  • Sexual dimorphism in developmental patterning
Daven C. Presgraves
Professor
Office: Hutchison 478
Phone: (585) 275-8946
Email: daven.presgraves@rochester.edu
  • Evolutionary genetics
  • Speciation genetics
  • Molecular population genetics
  • Selfish gene complexes
Danielle Presgraves
Lecturer
Office: Hutchison 216B
Phone: (585) 275-3848
Email: danielle.presgraves@rochester.edu
Christian Rabeling
Assistant Professor
Office: Hutchison 486
Phone: (585) 276-7226
Email: christian.rabeling@rochester.edu
  • Evolutionary biology, natural history, and taxonomy of ants
  • Evolution of social behavior, social parasitism, and reproductive strategies
  • Evolutionary ecology of host parasite-interactions
  • Speciation genetics/genomics
  • Island biogeography
Andrei Seluanov
Assistant Professor
Office: Hutchison 432
Phone: (585) 275-6636
Email: andrei.seluanov@rochester.edu
  • Molecular and cell biology
  • Tumor suppressor mechanisms in log-lived rodents the Naked Mole-Rat and Eastern Grey Squirrel
  • Mammalian Sirt proteins in regulation of stress response during aging
  • Anti-cancer mechanisms in whales
Elaine Sia
Professor
Office: Hutchison 332
Phone: (585) 275-9275
Email: elaine.sia@rochester.edu
  • Molecular biology and genetics
  • Mutagenesis and repair of the mitochondrial genome of Saccharomyces cerevisiae
Michael Welte
Associate Professor
Office: Hutchison 317
Phone: (585) 276-3897
Email: michael.welte@rochester.edu
  • Cell and developmental biology
  • Intracellular trafficking of proteins, RNAs, and organelles
  • Regulation of motor-driven transport
  • Cell biology of lipid droplets
  • Lipid droplets in protein sequestration and innate immunity
John H. Werren
Nathaniel & Helen Wisch Professor of Biology
Office: Hutchison 306
Phone: (585) 275-3694
Email: jack.werren@rochester.edu
  • Evolutionary genetics
  • Microbial-host interactions with emphasis on Wolbachia in arthropods, genetics of speciation and evolution of development
  • Genetics, genomics and evolution of Parasitoids (e.g. Nasonia and relatives)
  • The role of "selfish" or "parasitic" DNA in evolution