People

Graduate Students

People

Yasir Ahmed
Office: Hutchison 340
Phone: (585) 275-6066
Email: yasir.ahmed@rochester.edu
  • Genetics of postmating, prezygotic reproductive isolation in the Virilis group of Drosophila
Gurpreet Arora
Office: Hutchison 311
Phone: (585) 276-2440
Email: garora@ur.rochester.edu
  • Motor regulation in Drosophila embryos: mechanism of Halo function
Cara Brand
Office: Hutchison 480
Phone: (585) 276-2183
Email: cara.brand@rochester.edu
  • The evolution and genetics of two meiotic processes: recombination and segregation distortion
Mary Chaffee
Office: Hutchison 303
Phone: (585) 275-8388
Email: mary.chaffee@rochester.edu
  • The role of chromatin remodeling and DNA methylation in developmental plasticity
Ching-Ho Chang
Email: ching-ho.chang@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Nirmalya Chatterjee
Office: KMRB 2-9892
Phone: (585) 273-2904
Email: nchatter@ur.rochester.edu
  • Study of role of Nrf2 pathway in Drosophila development and homeostasis
Sophea Chhim
Office: Hutchison 331
Phone: (585) 275-0348
Email: sopheachhim@rochester.edu
  • Elucidating the role of ALKBH7 in programmed necrosis
Romain Dahan
Email: romain.dahan@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Ritika Das
Office: KMRB 2-9858
Phone: (585) 273-2544
Email: r.das@rochester.edu
  • HPK-1 is a heat stress response protein with essential roles in aging and proteostasis in C. elegans
Office: Hutchison 313
Phone: (585) 276-5073
Email: anthony.geneva@rochester.edu
  • Genomics of speciation in Hispaniolan bark anoles
Anwesha Ghosh
Office: KMRB 2-9858
Phone: (585) 273-2361
Email: anwesha.ghosh@rochester.edu
  • Notch pathway CRGs control tumor initiation in basel-like breast cancer through Wnt9a and Sfrp2
Melissa Glasner
Email: melissa.glasner@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Sheng Gong
Email: sheng.gong@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Purba Gupta
Office: KMRB 2-9905
Phone: (585) 275-7915
Email: purba.gupta@rochester.edu
  • Study of the genetic basis of sexually dimorphic behavior and mating systems in C. elegans natural populations
Chuck Hutti
Email: charles.hutti@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Adam Johnson
Office: Hutchison 338
Phone: (585) 275-7521
Email: adamjohnson@rochester.edu
  • Posterior growth and shell formation in Ilyanassa obsoleta
Matthew Johnson
Office: Hutchison 311
Phone: (585) 276-2440
Email: matthewjohnson@rochester.edu
  • Intracellular dynamics of histones during oogenesis and early development
Zhonghe Ke
Office: Hutchison 425
Phone: (585) 275-6637
Email: zhonghe.ke@rochester.edu
  • Stem cell biology of the naked mole rat and reversing age associated degeneration of stem cells
Adil Khan
Office: KMRB 2-9858
Phone: (585) 276-4365
Email: adilkhan@rochester.edu
  • Signal transduction by GPR56 and its functions in melanoma progression
Emerson Khost
Office: Hutchison 340
Phone: (585) 275-6066
Email: d.e.khost@rochester.edu
  • The organization and evolution of satellite DNA in Drosophila
Emily Landeen
Office: Hutchison 480
Phone: (585) 276-2183
Email: elandeen@mail.rochester.edu
  • The role of the X chromosome in hybrid male sterility
Binshuang Li
Office: Hutchison 303
Phone: (585) 275-8388
Email: binshuang.li@rochester.edu
  • Characterization of wing development locus aphicarus in pea aphid Acyrthosiphon pisum
Jingqiu Li
Office: Hutchison 336
Phone: (585) 276-1237
Email: jingqiu.li@rochester.edu
Sean Lindley
Office: Hutchison 311
Phone: (585) 276-2440
Email: sean.lindley@rochester.edu
Zhengshan Liu
Office: MRBX 1-11311
Phone: (585) 275-9693
Email: zhengshanliu@rochester.edu
  • The pathogenesis of glial cells for schizophrenia
LeAnne Lovato
Office: Hutchison 313
Phone: (585) 276-5073
Email: llovato@ur.ochester.edu
  • Population genomics and molecular evolution in the self-fertile nematode Caenorhabditis elegans
Jie Luo
Office: Medical Center 1-6513
Phone: (585) 273-4500
Email: jie.luo@rochester.edu
  • The role of neuroendocrine cells in the development of prostate cancer castration resistance and chemotherapy resistance
Jovany Martinez
Email: jovany.martinez@rochester.edu
  • Master's Student
Prabha Nagarajan
Office: Hutchison 334
Phone: (585) 275-9294
Email: pnagara2@ur.rochester.edu
  • Role of Rad27/Fen1 in mitochrondrial genome maintenance and repair
Nathan Napper
Office: Hutchison 301
Phone: (585) 276-2372
Email: nathan.napper@rochester.edu
  • Characterization of novel intermediates in 30S subunit assembly
Jillian Ramos
Email: jillian.ramos@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Yue Ren
Office: Hutchison 304
Phone: (585) 275-5917
Email: yren12@ur.rochester.edu
  • The role of PCNA in silent chromatin
Sarallah Rezazadeh
Office: Hutchison 425
Phone: (585) 275-6637
Email: s.rezazadeh@rochester.edu
  • DNA repair in cancer and aging
Sebastian Rojas Villa
Office: KMRB 2-9905
Phone: (585) 275-5827
Email: sebastian.rojasvilla@rochester.edu
  • Study of novel transcription factors and their role in Drosophila melanogaster intestinal stem cell tissue homeostasis
Jasmine Siler
Office: Hutchison 304
Phone: (585) 275-5917
Email: jasminesiler@rochester.edu
  • The role of Fun30 in cellular response to DNA repair
Alexis Stein
Office: Hutchison 334
Phone: (585) 275-9294
Email: astein4@ur.rochester.edu
  • The Role of the RAD52 epistasis group in mitochondrial DNA repair and maintenance
Hannah Steinert
Email: hannah.steinert@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Roxan Stephenson
Email: roxan.stephenson@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Hongying Sun
Office: Medical Center 3-8807
Phone: (585) 275-1748
Email: hongying.sun@rochester.edu
  • Nearest neighbor parameter derivation and RNA structure prediction
Yu Sun
Email: yu.sun@rochester.edu
  • First Year Student
Xiao Tian
Office: Hutchison 425
Phone: (585) 275-6637
Email: xtian@ur.rochester.edu
  • Comparative biology of aging in rodent species
Michael Van Meter
Office: Hutchison 425
Phone: (585) 275-6637
Email: michael.vanmeter@ochester.edu
  • Mechanisms of DNA repair and their roles in cancer and aging
Jeffrey Vedanayagam
Office: Hutchison 313
Phone: (585) 276-5073
Email: jvedanay@ur.rochester.edu
  • Evolutionary genomics of piRNA mediated transposon silencing in Drosophila
Longjun Wu
Office: Hutchison 338
Phone: (585) 275-7521
Email: longjunwu@rochester.edu
  • Exploring the genetic basis of Lophotrochozoan development
Jingyuan Zhang
Office: Medical Center 6-7535
Phone: (585) 273-4112
Email: jingyuan.zhang@rochester.edu
  • Role of ErbB2 pathway in mouse cochlear supporting cell proliferation and hair cell regeneration
Tian Zhang
Office: Hutchison 336
Phone: (585) 276-1237
Email: tianzhang@rochester.edu
  • Global analysis of selective autophagy by isotope labeling and mass spectrometry
Zhongyang Zhou
Office: MRBX 1-11301
Phone: (585) 276-4617
Email: z.zhou@rochester.edu
  • Exploring associations between mast cell accumulation and bronchopulmonary dysplasia