Philosophy Department

People—Faculty

The Philosophy faculty members have a variety of specialties in philosophy and represent diverse philosophical perspectives. Philosophical issues addressed include both traditional topics from areas such as epistemology, ethics, metaphysics, political philosophy, and the philosophy of science, and also the most recent contemporary concerns. The techniques brought to bear on these issues are analytical, formal, and historical.

Current Faculty

Gregory Carlson

Carlson, Gregory N.

Professor
Office: 506 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-5907
Email: gregory.carlson@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Semantic Theory, Psycholinguistics, Discourse

Earl Conee

Conee, Earl

Professor
Office: 528 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8115
Email: earl.conee@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind

Randall Curren

Curren, Randall

Professor; Chair of the Department
Office: 532 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8112
Email: randall.curren@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Education, History of Philosophy

Richard Dees

Dees, Richard

Associate Professor
Office: 529 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8110
Email: richard.dees@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Medical Ethics, Public Health Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, History of Moral and Political Philosophy

Richard Feldman

Feldman, Richard

Professor; Dean of the College
Office: 518 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 273-5001
Email: richard.feldman@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Epistemology, Metaphysics

William J. FitzPatrick

FitzPatrick, William J.

Associate Professor
Office: 525 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8107
Email: william.fitzpatrick@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Metaethics, Normative Ethics, Bioethics, Philosophy of Biology

Robert Holmes

Holmes, Robert L.

Professor Emeritus
Phone: (585) 275-8146
Email: hlms@mail.rochester.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, Social Philosophy, Philosophy of War

Ralf Meerbote

Meerbote, Ralf

Professor Emeritus
Office: 522 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8108
Email: ralf.meerbote@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Kant, Epistemology, History of Early Modern Philosophy, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Religion

Deborah Modrak

Modrak, Deborah

Professor
Office: 527 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8111
Email: deborah.modrak@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Aristotle, History of Ancient Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind

Alyssa Ney

Ney, Alyssa

Associate Professor
Office: 523 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8109
Email: alyssa.ney@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Physics

Peterman, Alison

Assistant Professor
Office: 521 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8146
Email: alison.peterman@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Early Modern Philosophy, History of Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Science, Ancient Philosophy, Ethics

Pickering, Mark

Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: 524 Lattimore Hall
Email: mark.pickering@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Kant, Early Modern Philosophy

Sherman, Brett

Assistant Professor
Office: 519 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-5402
Email: brett.sherman@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Philosophy of Language, Epistemology

Tresan, Jonathan

Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: 526 Lattimore Hall
Email: j.tresan@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Metaethics, normative ethics, applied ethics, moral psychology, history of ethics.

Brad Weslake

Weslake, Brad

Assistant Professor
Office: 520 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 276-3821
Email: bradley.weslake@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind

Edward Wieranga

Wierenga, Edward

Professor; Chair of the Department of Religion and Classics
Office: 430 Rush Rhees Library
Phone: (585) 275-9370
Email: edward.wierenga@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Philosophy of Religion, Metaphysics