Philosophy Department

People—Graduate Students

The Department has about a dozen faculty members and 25 graduate students in residence. The faculty is in close contact with graduate students not only in small seminars, but also in individual reading courses. Students and faculty often participate in small study groups. The size and nature of the program facilitate close interaction among faculty and students.

Current Graduate Students

Adrian Arellano

Arellano, Adrian

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-4387
Email: adrian.arellano@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Philosophy of Language, Ethics, Metaethics

Placeholder Image

Baddorf, Matthew

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: mbaddorf@z.rochester.edu
Research Interests: Ethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion, and Medieval Philosophy

Brian Barnett

Barnett, Brian C.

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: b.barnett@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion

Brandon Carey

Carey, Brandon

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-4387
Email: brandon.carey@rochester.edu

Picture of James Elliott

Elliott, James

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: jellio10@z.rochester.edu
Research Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology

Matthew Frise

Frise, Matthew

PhD Program
Email: mfrise@z.rochester.edu
Research Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Religion

Andrew Greenlee

Greenlee, Andrew

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: agreenl2@z.rochester.edu
Research Interests: Metaphysics and Epistemology

Sommer Hodson

Hodson, Sommer

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-4387
Email: sommer.hodson@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Metaphysics and Epistemology

Inusah, Husein (Visiting PhD Student)

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: hinusah@z.rochester.edu
Research Interests: Epistemology, pragmatism and environmental ethics.

Keller, Kolja

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: kolja.keller@rochester.edu

John W. Komdat

Komdat, John W.

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: john.komdat@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Epistemology, Metaphysics, History of Philosophy, Logic.

Picture of Dustin Olson

Olson, Dustin

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: dustin.olson@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Bertrand Russell, History of Analytic Philosophy

Otis, James

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: james.otis@rochester.edu

Picture of Robinson Phillips

Philips, Robinson

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore
Email: robinson.phillips@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Ethics

Kathryn Phillips

Phillips, Kathryn

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-4387
Email: kathryphillips@gmail.com
Research Interests: Metaethics, Ethics

Richey, Micah

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: micah.richey@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Metaethics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Epistemology

Placeholder Image

Rogers, Jason

PhD Program
Email: jason.rogers@rochester.edu

William D. Rowley

Rowley, William D.

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-4387
Email: william.rowley@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Epistemology, Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Applied Ethics

Jannai Shields

Shields, Jannai

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: jannai.shields@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Religion

Placeholder Image

Shoemaker, John D.

PhD Program
Email: john.shoemaker@rochester.edu

Jarod Sickler

Sickler, Jarod

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: jarodsickler@rochester.edu
Research Interests: Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Metaethics

Smith, Nathanael

PhD Program
Office: 534 Lattimore Hall
Email: n.smith@rochester.edu

Emmett Wilson image

Wilson, Emmett

PhD Program
Email: ewils10@z.rochester.edu