Anthropology Home

People

Anthropology Department Faculty

Anthony T. Carter

Carter, Anthony T.

Professor Emeritus

Office: 421 Lattimore Hall

Phone: (585) 275-8614

E-mail: anthony.carter@rochester.edu

Research Interests: rural politics; kinship and marriage; households and personhood

Kristin Doughty

Doughty, Kristin

Assistant Professor

Office: 437 Lattimore Hall

Phone: (585) 275-5155

E-mail: kristin.doughty@rochester.edu

Research Interests: political and legal anthropology; politics of reconciliation; transitional justice; violence and conflict; memory; Africa; Rwanda

Ayala Emmett

Emmett, Ayala

Professor Emeritus

Office: 421 Lattimore Hall

Phone: (585) 275-8736

E-mail: ayala.emmett@rochester.edu

Robert Foster

Foster, Robert J.

Professor and Chair of Anthropology and Professor of Visual and Cultural Studies

Office: 445 Lattimore

Phone: (585) 275-8741

E-mail: robert.foster@rochester.edu

Research Interests: Political economy; Material culture; Globalization ; Corporations ; Commercial media ; Papua New Guinea, Melanesia

Thomas Gibson

Gibson, Thomas P.

Professor

Office: 443 Lattimore Hall

Phone: (585) 275-8739

E-mail: thomas.gibson@rochester.edu

Research Interests: Indigenous peoples of Southeast Asia; The anthropology of war and peace; Cosmology and state formation; Islamic states; Religious nationalism in the Indian Ocean; Colonialism and bureaucracy

Maryann McCabe

McCabe, Maryann

Senior Lecturer

Office: 440 Lattimore Hall

Phone: (585) 275-8614

E-mail: maryann.mccabe@rochester.edu

Research Interests: consumer research; material culture; community revitalization; social justice; sustainability

John Osburg

Osburg, John

Assistant Professor

Office: 436 Lattimore Hall

Phone: (585) 273-3329

E-mail: john.osburg@rochester.edu

Research Interests: China; Capitalism; Postsocialism; Gender; Political corruption and organized crime; Buddhist revival in China

Daniel Reichman

Reichman, Daniel

Associate Professor
Acting Coordinator of Sustainability Studies

Office: 439 Lattimore Hall

Phone: (585) 275-8737

E-mail: daniel.reichman@rochester.edu

Research Interests: Globalization and trade; migration and transnationalism; food, development, and environment; coffee industry; Latin America; Honduras, Brazil

Llerena Searle

Searle, Llerena G.

Assistant Professor

Office: 434 Lattimore Hall

Phone: (585) 275-8740

E-mail: Llerena.searle@rochester.edu

Research Interests: Urbanization; infrastructure; capitalism and global finance; value; speculation; material culture; media and consumer cultures; South Asia