Phi Beta Kappa

Suzanne J. O'Brien Book Awards for Outstanding Freshmen

The Suzanne J. O'Brien Book Award (formerly the Iota Book Award) is co-sponsored by the Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa and the College at the University of Rochester. The award was first conceived and presented in 2003, as a way of recognizing excellence at the very beginning of a student's college experience. Awardees are selected for their scholarly achievement, humanistic values, co-curricular activity, and leadership potential. Comments and questions are welcome.

The 14th annual Book Award ceremony was held on November 7, 2016 at 7 p.m. in the Welles-Brown Room of Rush Rhees Library.

View Images from ceremony >

View Past Recipients >

2016 Suzanne J. O'Brien Book Award Recipients

Kavya Bana
Stephen Burgay
Elise Catania
Forrest  Hangen
Alexander Johnson
Julianne Kapner
Benjamin Martell

Viet Duy Nguyen
Ena Oreskovic
Charlotte Pillow
Varsha Deepak Sabhnani
Haley Wohlever
Boguang Yang