Date Range


Faculty Artist Series - Robert Morris, composer

Event Details
  • Location:
    Eastman School, Kilbourn Hall
  • Date:
    Sunday, January 26, 2020
  • Time:
    3:00 PM to 4:30 PM
Event Description

The Faculty Artist Series is generously sponsored by Patricia Ward Baker.

Chair of the Composition Department (1999-2005, 2009-11), University Mentor (1982), Bridging Fellowship (Department of Religion and Classics, 1997), University Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching (1996). BM, Eastman; MM, DMA, University of Michigan.

Recipient, Margaret Lee Crofts Composition Fellowship (1967), MacDowell Colony Fellowship (1975), A. Whitney Griswold Award (1975), American Music Center grants (1975, 1991), NEA grant (1978), ACLS Fellowship (1983), Hanson Institute for American Music (1997, 2000, 2005). Winner, Harvey Gaul Composition Competition (1982), New Music Delaware Competition (1997). Commendation from Paris New Music Review (1997).

Guest composer: Composer to Composer Conference, Telluride (CO)(1990); ISCM Festival of Contemporary Music (1990); Composers’ Symposium, University of New Mexico (1991); Kobe International Modern Music Festival in Japan (1991); The UCSB Contemporary Music Festival (1992); the Heidelberg Festival (2005). Commissions include: Yale Summer School of Music and Arts, Pittsburgh Chamber Symphony, Yale Band, Blackearth Percussion Group, Festival of Contemporary Organ Music, Chamber Arts Ensemble, Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble, Alienor Harpsichord Foundation, Rochester Philharmonic, National Flute Association, New Millennium Ensemble, Speculum Speculae, CUBE Contemporary Music Ensemble, Smith Publications, Mid-American Center for Contemporary Music, Ossia, Hanson Institute for American Music, ISCM. Music published by Morris Music. Recordings on CRI, New World, Music Gallery Editions, Neuma, Music and Arts, Fanfare, Centaur, Open Space, Albany Records, Attacca, and Music Gallery Editions.

Publications include Composition with Pitch-Classes: A Theory of Compositional Design (Yale, 1987), winner of the Society for Music Theory’s Distinguished Publication Award (1988), Class Notes for Atonal Music Theory (1991, Frog Peak), Advanced Class Notes for Atonal Music Theory (2004, Frog Peak). Articles in Journal of Music Theory, Asterisk*, Perspectives of New Music, Journal of the American Musicological Society, Music Theory Spectrum, and other journals. Co-Editor, Perspectives of New Music. Editorial Board, Open Space Magazine, Journal of Music Theory, The Stefan Wolpe Society. Vice-President of the Society for Music Theory (1998-2000).

Director, Yale School of Music Electronic Music Studio (1972-77), University of Pittsburgh Electronic Studio (1976-80). Faculty member, Yale (1969-77), University of Pittsburgh (1976-80), Berkshire Music Center (1982), Eastman (1980-).


More information on this ticketed concert can be found at or click the button below for ticket purchase

Buy Tickets

General ESM Concert Info

All concerts are free unless otherwise noted. All concerts listed are open to the public. Please note that all concerts are subject to change.

Ticket InformationPerformance Halls

Got updates? Notice Omissions? Contact


Date Range