Date Range


Jazz Lab Band

  • Kilbourn Hall
  • Thursday, November 21, 2013
  • 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Event Description

The Eastman Jazz Lab Band is a full 17-piece jazz ensemble, consisting of both undergraduate and graduate students. The ensemble performs a full range of big band repertoire including Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Woody Herman, Thad Jones-Mel Lewis, Bill Holman, and more. The band also performs arrangements by known Eastman Jazz alumni and current Eastman Jazz student arrangers. The band is on a new track bringing in an exciting guest soloist for its spring concert each year. The ensemble is directed by Associate Professor Rich Thompson and assisted by a graduate JCM student. The ensemble is open to Eastman and River Campus students by audition only.


On October 23rd Bill Holman worked w/the Jazz Lab Band, listening and critiquing the tunes composed and arranged by him on tonight's concert. He was very pleased w/the band's interpretation of his music and continued to voice his pleasure through out his week here at Eastman.


This performance is dedicated to the late Marion McPartland and the late Frank Wess.


Eastman Jazz Lab Band

Rich Thompson, director

Ben Britton, assistant director




Basie                                                                                      Ernie Wilkins


                                       Theresa Che, piano

                                       C.J. Ziarniak, tenor saxophone

                                       Erik Stabnau, tenor saxophone




Elegy In Blue                                                                         Benny Carter


                                       Marc Abrate, alto sax

                                       Theresa Chen, piano




You Go To My Head                                                       Coots/Gillespie     

                                                                                         arr. Bill Holman


                                       Luke Norris, alto saxophone

                                       Gomeh Barak, trumpet

                                       Erik Stabnau, tenor saxophone




Afluencia                                                                                  Bill Cunliff


                                       Luke Norris, alto saxophone

                                       Brendan Lanighan, trombone

                                       Kevin Urvalek, drums




St. Thomas                                                                           Sonny Rollins

                                                                                                 arr. Holman


                                       Gomeh Barak, trumpet

                                       Justin Neely, trombone

                                                Luke Norris, alto saxophone

                                       Julian Garvue, piano

                                       Kevin Urvalek, drums








Front Runner                                                                          Bill Holman


                                       Marc Abrate, alto saxophone




Big Dipper                                                                                Thad Jones


                                       Theresa Chen, piano

                                       Charlie Carr, trumpet

                                       Erik Stabnau, tenor sax




Blue Daniel                                                                              Bill Holman


                                       Gomeh Barak, trumpet

                                       Billy Petito, guitar

                                       Luke Norris, alto sax




Bulgaria                                                                                 Peter Erskine

                                                                                          arr. Bill Dobbins


                                       Michael Craig, drums

                                       Brendan Lanighan, trombone

                                       Theresa Chen, piano

                                       Luke Norris, alto sax




Giant Steps                                                            John Coltrane

                                                                            arr. Frank Foster


                           Ben Britton, tenor sax



This event is free and open to the public.

General Information for ESM Concerts

General Information for ESM Concerts:
All concerts are free unless otherwise noted. Ticket information is available here. All concerts listed are open to the public. Please note that all concerts are subject to change.

Got updates? Notice Omissions? Contact