The Susan B. Anthony Center for Women's Leadership Logo
About Us
Celebrating Women
Scholarships and Funding
Events and Programs
LPGA Conversations with Champions
Stanton/Anthony Luncheon and Conversations
Sexual Assault Prevention and Awareness Conference
Shoulders to Stand On
Student Advisory Board
Women's Leadership Circle
Trans* @ UofR
Support SBACWL
Suffrage History
Suffrage Biographies
Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton
Women's Rights Convention
SBAC History
Past Directors
Past Events
Stanton/Anthony Conversations
Legacy Dinner
LPGA Conversations with Champions
Sexual Assault Prevention and Awareness Conference
University of Rochester

Page Title

The Susan B. Anthony Lifetime Achievement Award

Each year since 1997, the Anthony Center has honored a University of Rochester woman with its Susan B. Anthony Lifetime Achievement Award. Nominees are faculty, staff, trustees and/or alumnae who have achieved significant professional stature and influence; have compiled a commendable, trailblazing body of work; and, have used their experience and skills to help other women advance as leaders. Nominees should also have a strong affiliation with the University of Rochester and a "lifetime" of significant achievements.

Award Winners:

Jean Watkeys, M.D., one of the first three women at UR Medical School

Ruth Lawrence, M.D., renowned neonatologist

Myra Gelband, senior editor at Sports Illustrated

Paula Brownlee, Ph.D., first woman president of the Association of American Colleges & Universities

Barbara Hotham Iglewski, Ph.D., professor and first woman chair of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the UR School of Medicine and Dentistry

Elizabeth McAnarney, M.D. chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Rochester Medical Center and Pediatrician-in-Chief of the Children's Hospital at Strong.

Judith Pipher, Ph.D., professor of astronomy, internationally known for her infrared detector technology

Patricia Herminghouse, Ph.D., Emerita of German, Department of Modern Languages and Cultures, University of Rochester

Jean Barr, DMA, Professor of Piano Accompanying & Chamber Music at the Eastman School of Music

Brenda Meehan, Ph.D., founding member of the Susan B. Anthony Institute for Gender and Women's Studies and trailblazing historian

Esther Conwell, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry and Physics, named by Discover Magazine as one of the 50 Most Important Women in Science, 2002

Suzanne Jagel O'Brien, '59, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Director of the Center for Academic Support

Lois Giess, former president of the Rochester City Council 

Daria Semegen, BM '68, Associate Professor of Composition, Theory and Electronic Music Composition at the Eastman School of Music, 
Director of the Electronic Music Studio

Harriet J. Kitzman, RN, PhD, FAAN '68, The Loretta C. Ford Professor of Nursing, Senior Associate Dean for Research

Mary Huth, former assistant director of the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation

Nora Bredes, Director of the Susan B. Anthony Center for Women's Leadership 1995-1999 

Sue Stewart, former senior vice president and general counsel at the University of Rochester

Jane Possee, Associate Director of Athletics for Recreation and Wellness

The Susan B. Anthony Legacy Award

The Legacy Award honors a woman whose work and spirit exemplify Susan B. Anthony's perseverance, creative energy and commitment to equality between women and men, for the benefit of all.

Donna De Varona

Doris Kearns Goodwin

The Honorable Hillary Rodham Clinton