The Susan B. Anthony Center for Women's Leadership Logo
About Us
Events and Programs
100 Years
Legacy Dinner
Legacy Race
Women Leading Local Governments
The Power of Women's Friendship
Stanton/Anthony Conversations
Support ACWL
Suffrage History

2000 Susan B. Anthony Legacy Dinner

The Anthony Center and the University of Rochester Women's Club held their annual Susan B. Anthony Legacy Dinner on February 8, 2000.

The 2000 Susan B. Anthony Legacy Dinner celebrated the 100th anniversary of women's admission to the University of Rochester. In 1900, UR trustees voted to admit women undergraduates after Rochester's leading citizens, spurred on by Anthony, raised $50,000 to underwrite the education of women.

In keeping with this noteworthy centennial, the Legacy Dinner featured women's achievements in higher education. Lynn Gordon, Ph.D., historian at the University's Warner School, gave a keynote address that described Anthony's legacy and the continuing battle for gender equity in higher education.

The Center honored Paula Brownlee, Ph.D. as its Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. Dr. Brownlee earned her doctorate in chemistry at Oxford University and attended UR as a post-doctoral fellow in 1960-61. Now a UR trustee, Dr. Brownlee built a career as a leader in higher education. She is a former president of Hollins College and was the first women president of the Association of American Colleges and Universities. Dr. Brownlee is the educated woman of achievement and integrity that Susan B. Anthony hoped would thrive in next generations.

Seated (left to right): Emily Bones, Meredith Tobin, Melissa Diaz.
Standing (left to right): Arabela Arifovic and Anya Lakner. Missing: Heather Hall

The greater Rochester and University communities joined in applauding 100 years of women's education and achievements. The Legacy Dinner enjoyed the support of: Wegmans, Genencor International, the Winters Group, the Rochester Women's Network, the American Association of University Women, Nazareth College, Fabulous Flowers, Mary K. Collins and J. Christine Wilson, Virginia Goyer, Brenda Myrthil, the Colgate Rochester Divinity School, the UR Dance Program, the UR Program in Visual and Cultural Studies, the Susan B. Anthony Institute for Gender and Women's Studies, the UR Office of the Provost, the UR Office of the Vice-President and University Dean of Students, the UR Program for Women in Science and Engineering, the UR William E. Simon Graduate School of Business, the UR School of Nursing, the UR Athletics Department, the UR Student Activities Office, the UR Margaret Warner Graduate School of Education and Human Development, and, the UR Office of Alumni Relations and Development.

Award recipients included:

2000 Lifetime Achievement Award: Paula P. Brownlee, Ph.D.
2000 Susan B. Anthony Scholarship: Arabela Arifovic
2000 Susan B. Anthony Prize: Meredith Tobin
2000 Fannie Bigelow Scholarship: Emily Bones
2000 Jane R. Plitt Scholarship: Anya Lakner
1999 Jane R. Plitt Scholarship: Melissa Diaz and Heather Hall