International Job Search Links

For those interested in internships and work abroad, there are many options! Some programs will require a program fee (for both internships and volunteering), while some positions and countries have short-term working options including a salary. See the links below to get started, and then meet with Career Counselor in our office to better define your options!

 

General International Job Search Links


Job Search Engines By Country :http://www.rochester.edu/careercenter/students/international/SearchEngines

The Riley Guide: http://www.rileyguide.com/internat.html
Eurograduate: http://www.eurograduate.com/
Project Visa: http://www.projectvisa.com/
Foreign Policy Association Job Board: http://www.fpa.org/jobs_contact2423/jobs_contact.htm

OverseasJobs.com: http://www.overseasjobs.com/
Escape Artist: www.escapeartist.com/jobs/overseas1.htm
Irex:http://www.irex.org/careers/index.asp
Jobs Abroad: www.jobsabroad.com
Kazinow: www.kazinow.com/memberZone.php?desiredZoneType=Job Seeker
Latpro: http://www.latpro.com/USER/JOBS/job-search.php
Learn Overseas: www.learnoverseas.com
Linguistic Funland: www.tesol.net/jobs
One Small Planet: www.onesmallplanet.com/geninfo.htm
University of Michigan International Center: internationalcenter.umich.edu/swt/work/
Go Global: http://go.global.wisc.edu/browsing.htm
GoinGlobal: http://www.goinglobal.com
Teaching Advantage: http://www.teachingadvantage.com/
Transitions Abroad: http://www.transitionsabroad.com
International Herald Tribune. At Home Abroad Feature Section: http://www.iht.com/pages/athome/index.php
BUNAC: http://www.bunac.org
Council on International Educational Exchange: http://www.ciee.org
Escape Artist: http://www.escapeartist.com
International Jobs Center: http://www.internationaljobs.org
Careerjet: http://www.careerjet.com.au
Globalearn-IT: http://www.Globalearn-IT.com

Back to Top


 

Teaching Abroad


General

Certification Programs
University of Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (CELTA):http://www.cambridgeESOL.org/teaching
Trinity College London (TESOL): http://www.trinitycollege.co.uk
Teaching English as a Foreign Language: www.tefl.net/esl-jobs/index.htm
TEFL Professional Network: www.tefl.com/jobs/results.html?rs_so=1
Oxford Seminars: http://www.oxfordseminars.com/Rochester-teach-english-abroad

Teaching Programs and Resources
Transitions Abroad (online journal with information on teaching in a wide variety of countries) http://www.transitionsabroad.com/listings/work/esl/index.shtml
Fullbright English Teaching Assistantships: http://www.iie.org/fulbright
US Dept. of State, American English Program – http://americanenglish.state.gov
LanguageCorps: http://www.languagecorps.com
WorldTeach: http://www.worldteach.com
Footprints Recruiting: www.footprintsrecruiting.com
Council on International Educational Exchange: http://www.ciee.org
Teacher Port (intl search engine)- http://teacherport.com
Dave’s ESL Café: http://www.daveseslcafe.com
Overseas Digest: http://www.teachingabroad.net
Teach Abroad: www.teachabroad.com
Teach Away: www.teachaway.com
GoTeachAbroad: http://www.goteachabroad.com/

Africa
Transitions Abroad Reference List- Africa: http://www.transitionsabroad.com/listings/work/esl/africa.shtml

Asia
Transitions Abroad Reference List- Asia: http://www.transitionsabroad.com/listings/work/esl/asia.shtml
Japan Exchange and Teaching (JET) Program:http://www.us.emb-japan.go.jp/JETProgram/homepage.html
O-Hayo Sensei: www.ohayosensei.com
ELTNews, English Teachers in Japan: www.eltnews.com/jobs
Teach for China – http://www.tfchina.org/
Ameson Education and Cultural Exchange Foundation, Year in China Program – http://www.ameson.org/ayc/
US-China Education and Culture Exchange Center: www.uschinaedu.org
Chinese Culture Center – Teach English in China: www.chineseculturecenter.org/
Chatteris Educational Foundation (Hong Kong) – http://www.chatteris.org.hk/home/
EPIK English Program in Korea – http://www.epik.go.kr/
Canadian Connection (Teach English in Korea) – www.canconx.com/ (Americans welcome)
Teach Thailand Corps – www.americanthaifoundation.org

Australasia
Transitions Abroad Reference List- Australasia: http://www.transitionsabroad.com/listings/work/esl/teaching_english_in_australasia_resources.shtml

Europe
Transitions Abroad Reference List- Western Europe: http://www.transitionsabroad.com/listings/work/esl/europe.shtml
Transitions Abroad Reference List- Central & Eastern Europe: http://www.transitionsabroad.com/listings/work/esl/centralandeasterneurope.shtml
French Ministry of Education “Teach in France” program -http://highereducation.frencheducation.org/teach-in-france/
Ministry of Education of Georgia Program: http://www.footprintsrecruiting.com/teaching-in-georgia
Ministry of Education of Spain Program: http://www.mec.es/sgci/usa/en/programs/us_assistants/default.shtml
Czech Republic – http://www2.dzs.cz/scripts/detail.asp?id=599
ESL Camp Programs in Italy – http://www.acle.org/

Latin America
Transitions Abroad Reference List- Latin America: http://www.transitionsabroad.com/listings/work/esl/latinamerica.shtml
Teach in Latin America - www.TeacherKick.com

Middle East
Transitions Abroad Refeernce List-Middle East: http://www.transitionsabroad.com/listings/work/esl/egypt.shtml

Back to Top


Volunteer
International Volunteer Programs Association: http://www.volunteerinternational.org/
Volunteer Adventures: http://www.volunteeradventures.com
PeaceCorps: http://www.peacecorps.gov/
UN Volunteers: http://www.unv.org/
Volunteers for Peace: http://www.vfp.org/
Global Citizens Network: http://www.globalcitizens.org/
Universal Giving: http://www.universalgiving.org/volunteer/
MASA: Your Gateway to Longterm Israel Programs: www.masaisrael.org
GoEco (Global Ecological Volunteer Opportunities): www.goeco.org
Love Volunteers – http://www.lovevolunteers.org/
Manna Project International – http://mannaproject.org/long-term

Back to Top


Internships – Including Health Related Programs

see internship links page here

Back to Top


Short-term work/intern abroad visa options* (visa only, find work/internship independently)

 

*These programs apply to American citizens. Depending on your country of origin, non-citizens may or may not be eligible for these programs, but may be eligible for others.


Fundraising Ideas

Many international internship, volunteer and even work options, similar to study abroad, have a price-tag attached. The following sites offer some creative fundraising ideas for your program abroad! If you’re able to tell people specifically what you’ll be doing for your internship (particularly if service oriented) you might be surprised how people will support you!

InterExchange Christiansen Grant (for students participating in internship/work abroad experience of at least 6 months)

ServeYourWorld.com 8 Rules of Fundraising
i-to-i Top 10 Fundraising Tips for Volunteers(includes a full downloadable guide)
A Broader View Fundraising Ideas
AFS Fundraising Wiki
Fundraising Ideas and Product Guide
World Teach Fundraising Page (good for all types of volunteering, including teaching English)
Study Abroad Fundraising Guide (good for internships and volunteering too!)