People

Faculty by Research Focus

People

Cellular, Developmental and Molecular Biology

Cheeptip Benyajati
Associate Professor; Director of UPBM
Office: Hutchison 474
Phone: (585) 275-8040
Email: cheeptip.benyajati@rochester.edu
  • Regulation of gene expression during development of Drosophila
  • Transcription, chromatin structure, and mechanisms of developmental chromatin structure remodeling
More »
Xin Bi
Professor
Office: Hutchison 307
Phone: (585) 275-6922
Email: xin.bi@rochester.edu
  • Epigenetic regulation of eukaryotic gene expression
  • Structural and functional domains of the genome
  • Chromatin boundary elements
  • Gene silencing
  • DNA damage repair and tolerance
More »
Professor Gloria Culver
Professor; Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences
Office: Lattimore 317
Phone: (585) 273-5000
Email: gloria.culver@rochester.edu
  • Macromolecular assembly
  • RNA-protein recognition
  • Dynamics of RNA folding
More »
Professor Thomas H. Eickbush
Professor
Office: Hutchison 334A
Phone: (585) 275-7247
Email: thomas.eickbush@rochester.edu
  • Molecular biology and evolution
  • Integration of retrotransposable elements
  • Origin and evolution of mobile elements
  • Regulation of mRNA genes
More »
Dragony Fu
Assistant Professor
Office: Hutchison 333
Phone: (585) 276-3346
Email: dragonyfu@rochester.edu
  • DNA repair mechanisms
  • Genotoxic stress response pathways
  • Programmed cell death
More »
Sina Ghaemmaghami
Assistant Professor
Office: Hutchison 326A
Phone: (585) 275-4829
Email: sghaemma@bio.rochester.edu
Lab Website
  • Protein folding and degradation
  • Neurodegenerative diseases and aging
  • Prion biology
  • Proteomics
More »
David Goldfarb
Professor
Office: Hutchison 436
Phone: (585) 275-3890
Email: david.goldfarb@rochester.edu
  • Molecular cell biology of the nucleus
More »
Vera Gorbunova
Doris Johns Cherry Professor; Professor of Biology; Associate Professor of Oncology
Office: Hutchison 434
Phone: (585) 275-7740
Email: vera.gorbunova@rochester.edu
Lab Website
  • Mechanisms of aging
  • Comparative biology of aging
  • Comparative biology of aging
  • DNA repair and genomic instability
  • Anticancer therapy
More »
Rush Rhees Professor Emeritus Martin A Gorovsky
Rush Rhees Professor Emeritus
Email: m.gorovsky@rochester.edu
  • Research Inactive
More »
 J. David Lambert
Associate Professor
Office: Hutchison 344
Phone: (585) 273-2482
Email: dlamber2@ur.rochester.edu
Lab Website
  • The evolution of developmental mechanisms
  • Early patterning in molluscs and related groups
  • Cytoskeletal basis of asymmetric cell divisions
  • Evolution of novel phenotypes
More »
Joanna Olmsted
Dean Emerita of the School of Arts and Sciences
Email: joanna.olmsted@rochester.edu

More »
Douglas Portman
Associate Professor
Office: KMRB 2-9647
Phone: (585) 275-7414
Email: douglas.portman@rochester.edu
Lab Website
  • Genetics of development and behavior in C. elegans
  • Neural cell fate specification
  • Sex differences in neural circuit function
  • Sexual dimorphism in developmental patterning
More »
Andrei Seluanov
Associate Professor
Office: Hutchison 432
Phone: (585) 275-6636
Email: andrei.seluanov@rochester.edu
Lab Website
  • Molecular and cell biology
  • Tumor suppressor mechanisms in log-lived rodents the Naked Mole-Rat and Eastern Grey Squirrel
  • Mammalian Sirt proteins in regulation of stress response during aging
  • Anti-cancer mechanisms in whales
More »
Elaine Sia
Professor
Office: Hutchison 332
Phone: (585) 275-9275
Email: elaine.sia@rochester.edu
  • Molecular biology and genetics
  • Mutagenesis and repair of the mitochondrial genome of Saccharomyces cerevisiae
More »
Michael Welte
Professor
Office: Hutchison 317
Phone: (585) 276-3897
Email: michael.welte@rochester.edu
Lab Website
  • Cell and developmental biology
  • Intracellular trafficking of proteins, RNAs, and organelles
  • Regulation of motor-driven transport
  • Cell biology of lipid droplets
  • Lipid droplets in protein sequestration and innate immunity
More »