Materials Science Graduate Program

Faculty

M. Anthamatten, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, (585-273-5526, anthamatten@che.rochester.edu). Macromolecular self-assembly; associative & functional polymers; nanostructured materials; interfacial phenomena; optoelectronic materials; vapor deposition polymerization.

H.Awad, Biomedical Engineering, (585-273-5268, hani.awad@rochester.edu).

A.Badolato, Physics & Astronomy, (585-275-4396; Antonio.badolato@rochester.edu).

D.Benoit, Biomedical Engineering, (585-723-2698; benoit@bme.rochester.edu).

N.P. Bigelow, Physics and Astronomy, (585-275-8549; nbig@lle.rochester.edu). Atomic, molecular and optical physics. Materials fabrication, advanced lithography, laser physics, nonlinear optics, optically detected magnetic resonance and optical materials.

M.F. Bocko, Electrical and Computer Engineering, (585-275-4879; bocko@ece.rochester.edu). Acoustic and electrical losses of metals and ceramics at low temperatures.

R.W. Boyd, Optics, (585-275-2329; boyd@optics.rochester.edu). Development of nonlinear optical materials, especially materials having a composite structure.

S.J. Burns, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Chair of Mechanical Engineering (585-275-4082; burns@me.rochester.edu). Fracture of solids, mechanical properties of metals, ceramics and polymers, ceramic superconductors, solid state phase changes.

S.H. Chen, Chemical Engineering, Co-Director of Materials Science, and Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Laser Energetics (585-275-0909; shch@lle.rochester.edu). Polymer science and engineering, glass-forming liquid crystals, mesomorphic conjugated polymers, optical, photonic and optoelectronic materials, computational chemistry, vapor deposition, polymerization.

E. Chimowitz, Chemical Engineering (585-275-8497; chim@che.rochester.edu). Critical phenomena statistical mechanics of fluids and computer-aided design.

E. Conwell, Chemistry, (585-275-5841; conwell@chem.rochester.edu).


H. Dery, Electrical and Computer Engineering, (585-275-3870; hanan.dery@rochester.edu).


L. DeLouise, Dermatology, (585-275-1810; lisa_delouise@urmc.rochester.edu).


S. Dewhurst, Microbiology and Immunology, (585-275-3216; stephen_dewhurst@me.com).


W. Donaldson, Electrical and Computer Engineering/LLE, (585-275-5347; billd@lle.rochester.edu).

P.D. Funkenbusch, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, (585-275-4074; funk@me.rochester.edu). Material processing especially powder processing and deformation. Structure, property relationships in metals and ceramics.

Chunlei Guo, Optics, (585-275-2134; guo@optics.rochester.edu). High Intensity Laser-Matter Interactions, Ultrafast Phenomena

S.D. Jacobs, Optics, Materials Science and Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Laser Energetics, (585-275-4837; sjac@lle.rochester.edu). Liquid crystal optics, optical fabrication and testing, optical and laser glass, electro-optic devices, magnetorheological finishing.

T. B. Jones, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Materials Science, (585-275-5233; jones@ece.rochester.edu). Microelectromechanical systems, micro Total Analysis systems, sensors and actuators.

J. Jorne, Chemical Engineering (585-275-4584; jorne@che.rochester.edu). Electrochemistry of materials, nanofabrication and microelectronics processing, photoluminescence in porous silicon.

T.D. Krauss, Chemistry, Director of Materials Science Program (585-275-5093; krauss@chem.rochester.edu). Nanometer scale materials, carbon nanotubes, semiconductor nanocrystal quantum dots, biological sensors, non-linear optical devices, single nanoparticle spectroscopy.

J.C. Lambropoulos, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, (585-275-4071; jcl@me.rochester.edu). Fracture of glasses and ceramics, crystal growth, thermomechanics of thin films, laser damage, deterministic microgrinding, optics manufacturing.

J.C.M. Li , Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, (585-275-4038; li@me.rochester.edu). Micromechanisms of mechanical behavior in crystalline and amorphous materials including metallic glasses, porous materials, and polymers.

S. Lukishova, Optics, ( 585-276-5283; sluk@lle.rochester.edu).


J. McGrath, Biomedical Engineering, (585-273-5489;  jmcgrath@bme.rochester.edu).


B.L.Miller, Dermatology, (585-275-9805; Benjamin_miller@URMC.rochester.edu).


H. Mukaibo, Chemical Engineering, (585-275-4040; hitomi.mukaibo@rochester.edu).


B. Nilsson, Chemistry, (585-276-3053; Bradley.nilsson@rochester.edu).


O. Prezhdo, Chemistry, (585-276-5664; oleg.prezhdo@rochester.edu).

D.J. Quesnel, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, (585-275-5215; dque@me.rochester.edu). Deformation behavior of metals and polymers; fundamentals of fatigue and fracture, molecular mechanics, contact mechanics.

J. Rolland, Optics, Physics, (585-273-4040; Rolland@optics.rochester.edu).

L.J. Rothberg, Chemistry, (585-275-4725; ljr@chem.chem.rochester.edu). Organic device science, optical properties of conjugated polymers, charge transport in molecular solids, fabrication and operation of organic LEDs, transistors,and photovoltaics.

A. Shestopalov, Chemical Engineering, (585-276-5434; shestopalov@seas.rochester.edu).

R. Sobolewski, Electrical and Computer Engineering and Senior Scientist in the Laboratory for Laser Energetics, (585-275-1551; roman@ee.rochester.edu). Superconductivity, optoelectronics, solid-state thin-film technologies, ultrafast phenomena in condensed matter, microwaves.

C.W. Tang, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, (585) 275-3552; chtang@che.rochester.edu). Applications of organic electronic devices – organic light emitting diodes, solar cells, photoconductors, image sensors, photoreceptors. Organic thin-film devices, junction phenomena, flat-panel display technology based on organic light emitting diodes.

R. Waugh, Biomedical Engineering, (585-275-3768; richard.waugh@rochester.edu).

G.W. Wicks, Optics, (585-275-4867; wicks@optics.rochester.edu). Epitaxial growth of semiconductors, optical properties of semiconductors, optoelectronic devices.

J-H.D. Wu, Chemical Engineering, (585-275-8499; davidwu@che.rochester.edu). Biochemical engineering, fermentation, biocatalysis, bone marrow tissue engineering, molecular biology.

M. Z. Yates, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science (585-273-2335; myates@che.rochester.edu). Colloids and Interfaces, Materials Synthesis in Microemulsions, Nanoparticle/Polymer Composites, Supercritical Fluids, Microencapsulation