Skip to main content

Communal Principles

Communal Principles Project

The Communal Principles Project (CPP) is an initiative of the College coordinated by the Office of the Dean of Students. This project aims to promote the communal principles of fairness, freedom, honesty, inclusion, respect, and responsibility, which are woven into the fabric that make up our community of engaged, lifelong learners. Beginning with the 2011-2012 academic year, one of the six principles will be highlighted annually.


Students are invited to apply for mini grants to develop a program or activity that exemplifies the spirit and purpose of respect to our community. Grants will be awarded in the amount of $200 or $500. Grant proposals will be reviewed by members of the Communal Principles Project committee. Please review the following Grant Proposal documents before submitting your proposal.

Submission Deadlines 

Grant proposals should be submitted well in advance of your proposed event or program date to facilitate review and processing. Please review the deadlines below carefully to ensure that your proposal for grant-funding is received by the Selection Committee at least two weeks before your event. 

  • Fall Semester 2018 
    • Sept. 10 
    • Oct. 17 
    • Nov. 12 
  • Spring Semester 2019 
    • Jan. 22 
    • Feb. 18 
    • Mar. 18 

Submit a Proposal

Please note: Not all proposals received will be awarded a CPP grant. Requests for use of the CPP stamp for events or programs should be made in writing to Dr. Jessica Guzman-Rea, chair of the Selection Committee at

For more information on CPP and the Year of Respect, contact the Dr. Guzman-Rea at (585) 275-5678.

Additional Funding Sources

Check out this link, if you are interested in learning more about the One Community Programming Fund.

Past Grant Recipients