Iota Book Awards for Outstanding Freshmen

The Iota Book Award is co-sponsored by the Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa and The College at the University of Rochester. The award was first conceived and presented in 2003, as a way of recognizing excellence at the very beginning of a student's college experience. Awardees are selected for their scholarly achievement, humanistic values, co-curricular activity, and leadership potential.

The 10th annual Iota Book Award ceremony was held November 22, 2012. Sixteen sophomores were honored for extraordinary achievement in their first year at the University of Rochester.

This year's ceremony was held December 2, 2013 at 7:00pm, in the Welles-Brown Room of Rush Rhees Library. The following sixteen students were honored.

2013 Iota Book Award Recipients

Kate Cowie-Haskell
Luke Cybulski
Christopher J. Dean
Gabrielle DiAngelo
William E. Green
Jeremy D. Hassett
Dan Hassin
Elizabeth C. Hotvedt

Jeffrey D. Hrebenach
Anya T. Joynt
Angel Morales
Angela R. Remus
Ephraim Shimko
Steven B. Torrisi
Pedro Vallejo Ramirez
Madalina O. Vlasceanu

View Past Recipients »»

Comments and questions are welcome.