Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize

The 2010 Kafka Award Winner

This year the 2010 Recipient of the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for Fiction by an American Woman is Linda LeGarde Grover for "The Dance Boots," her debut short-story collection.

Meet the author!

On Thursday, November 3rd Grover visited Rochester for a reading and award ceremony, followed by an hors d’oeuvres reception and book signing at the University's River Campus in the Welles-Brown Room of the Rush Rhees Library. Books were available for purchase provided by the Campus Bookstore.


Linda LeGarde GroverCover of the book Dance Boots

About the Book

“A luminous collection of eight interconnected short stories that explore the twentieth-century lives of Artense,and three generations of her extended network of family and friends as they move on and off the Mozhay Point Reservation.” - Jean Pedersen, Janet Heidinger Kafka Award Committee Member and Associate Professor of History

About the Author

Linda LeGarde Grover is an Assistant Professor of American Indian Studies at the University of Minnesota-Duluth. She is the co-author of A Childhood in Minnesota: Exploring the Lives of Ojibwe and Immigrant Families, 1880-1920 and the author of the poetry chapbook The Indian at Indian School. The Dance Boots, co-winner of the 2009 Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction from the University of Georgia Press, is Grover's first published story collection.

About the Award

Since 1976, the Susan B. Anthony Institute for Gender and Women's Studies and the Department of English at the University of Rochester have awarded the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for fiction by an American woman. The idea for the prize came out of the personal grief of the friends and family of a fine young editor who was killed in an automobile accident just as her career was beginning to achieve its promise of excellence. She was 30 years old, and those who knew her believed she would do much to further the causes of literature and women. Her family, her friends, and her professional associates in the publishing industry created the endowment from which the prize is bestowed, in memory of Janet Heidinger Kafka and the literary standards and personal ideals for which she stood.

Each year a substantial cash prize is awarded annually to a woman who is a USA citizen, and who has written the best book-length work of prose fiction, whether novel, short stories, or experimental writing. We are particularly interested in calling attention to the work of a promising but less established writer.

About the Committee

This year's Committee members were:

  • Kathy McGowan, Rush Rhees Library
  • Terry Platt, Biology
  • Jean Pedersen, Eastman Humanities

Graphic button