NSF gives nod to four Rochester faculty

Vying against researchers from hundreds of other colleges and universities nationwide, faculty members from Rochester have claimed an impressive four of 350 prestigious grants given by the National Science Foundation this year to boost the teaching and research of young scientists. It's highly unusual for an institution the size of the University, with only 334 faculty members in its core College, to boast so many winners of the annual Faculty Early Career Development awards, NSF officials say.

Nearly 2,000 young researchers apply for the 350 grants awarded each year.

Rochester's 1997 winners are:

  • Adam Frank, assistant professor of physics and astronomy.

  • Sandhya Dwarkadas, assistant professor of computer science.

  • Mitsu Ogihara, assistant professor of computer science.

  • David Albonesi, assistant professor of electrical engineering.

    Each will receive a four-year grant worth at least $200,000 to continue their research.

    | Contents | Previous article | Next article | In Brief | Calendar | Classifieds | Jobs |

    | UR Home | Currents home page | Mail | Search |


    Copyright 1997, University of Rochester
    Maintained by University Public Relations
    Please send your comments and suggestions to: Public Relations.
    Last updated 7-25-1997