Susan Houde-Walter, associate professor at the Institute of Optics, has been named a fellow of the Optical Society of America.

Eastman faculty composer Augusta Read Thomas has been chosen as an ASCAP Award recipient. The cash awards, made by the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers, are part of the society's continuing commitment to assist and encourage writers of serious music. Granted by an independent panel, the awards are based on a writer's catalog of original compositions and performances. Thomas has been an assistant professor of composition since 1994.

Four faculty members from the School of Medicine and Dentistry have been awarded Buswell Fellowships: Heidi Connolly, senior instructor of pediatrics; Charles Heilig, assistant professor of medicine; James Palis, assistant professor of pediatrics and oncology; and Ignacio Sanz, associate professor of medicine. The fellowships assist each recipient in their research interests and help prepare them for careers in academic medicine.

Seven physicians on the clinical faculty of the Department of Medicine have been appointed Lawrence A. Kohn Senior Teaching Fellows for 1996-1997. Those physicians (and the hospitals where they teach) are: Marc Berliant, Strong Memorial Hospital; S. Zane Burday, Strong Memorial Hospital; John Chamberlain, Rochester General Hospital; Jared Krackov, Strong Memorial Hospital; Mary Labanowski, Strong Memorial Hospital; Bruce Peyser, Strong Memorial Hospital; Michael Schneider, Genesee Hospital. The fellowships are named after Lawrence A. Kohn, M.D., the first chief resident in the Department of Medicine and the first clinical professor of medicine. The Lawrence A. Kohn Fellowships were established in 1966 through the generosity of the late Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert J.C. McCurdy. Each fellowship carries with it a cash stipend to enable these physicians in private practice to devote more time to medical school teaching.

| Contents | Articles | In Brief | F.Y.I. | Calendar | Classifieds | Jobs |

| UR Home | Currents home page | Mail | Search |


Copyright 1997, University of Rochester
Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to: Public Relations.
Last updated 1-27-1997