Convocation honors Goergen winners

T he September 10 Convocation will take place from noon to 2 p.m. on the Eastman Quadrangle. It will feature the inauguration of the Sproull deanship (see related article) and recognize this year's winners of the Goergen Awards for contributions to undergraduate education in the College.

Recipients of the Goergen Award for Distinguished Achievement and Artistry in Undergraduate Teaching are as follows:

The Department of Brian and Cognitive Sciences will receive the Award for Curricular Achievement in Undergraduate Education. The department was cited for its programs for the brain and cognitive sciences major and the neuroscience major.

The Goergen Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Learning is being presented to two honorees: Dale McAdam and the Office of Minority Student Affairs. McAdam, dean of freshmen and professor of psychology, is being honored for his leadership, achievements, and contributions to academic and co-curricular student life. The Office of Minority Student Affairs is being recognized for its leadership in programs benefiting the entire University community.


This year marks the third time the awards have been presented. They are named for and sponsored by Robert Goergen '60, chairman of the Board of Trustees, and his wife, Pamela.

In case of rain, ceremonies will be held in Strong Auditorium. A barbecue for students, faculty, and staff of the College will be held on the Wilson Commons lawn following the Convocation.

| Contents | Previous article | Next article | In Brief | Calendar | Classifieds | Jobs |

| UR Home | Currents home page | Mail | Search |


Copyright 1999, University of Rochester
Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to: Public Relations.
Last updated 8-27-1999