University of Rochester

Skip Navigation Bar
August 28


Previous article

Next article

In Brief




Currents home


Phone BookContact the UniversitySearch/IndexNews and Facts
Currents--University of Rochester newspaper

Several honored with Goergen Awards

Since 1997, Convocation ceremonies have included presentation of the Goergen Awards for contributions to undergraduate education in the College (for more information on this year's Convocation, see the related story). The awards are named for and sponsored by Board of Trustees Chairman Robert Goergen '60 and his wife, Pamela. Recipients of the Goergen Award for Distinguished Achievement and Artistry in Undergraduate Teaching are as follows:


  • Loisa Bennetto, assistant professor, Department of Clinical and Social Sciences in Psychology. Bennetto has established a new educational program on developmental disabilities, including internships in the campus BOCES classroom as well as a seminar and other courses. Students praise her for encouraging them to develop and learn on their own and explore new topics, while providing guidance and inspiration. Many seek her out as an advisor and a mentor.

    Photo by Kimberly McKinzie

  • Joseph Eberly, Andrew Carnegie Professor of Physics. Eberly has developed physics courses that introduce freshmen to topics usually reserved for upper-class and graduate-level students, such as aspects of quantum theory, including Heisenberg's uncertainty principle, Schrodinger's cat, and even teleportation. Students, teaching assistants, and parents alike praise Eberly for demystifying and generating enthusiasm for the physics topics with his clarity, humor, and accessibility.


  • Kim Kowalke, professor, Department of Music; professor of musicology, Eastman School. A world-renowned expert on Kurt Weill, Kowalke has influenced his department's curriculum with his courses in music history and musical theater. Students applaud the way his personal attention draws out their individual talents and strengths, both in the classroom and on stage. They praise his passion, encyclopedic knowledge, and commitment to their learning.

The Goergen Award for Curricular Achievement in Undergraduate Education is being presented to the Department of Anthropology and the Department of History. The Department of History is cited for expanding the research experiences of its students, designing a new undergraduate curriculum, and developing innovative techniques for enhancing undergraduate teaching. The Department of Anthropology is cited for expanding a research-based curriculum for its majors and for designing fieldwork experiences in the Rochester community and abroad, combined with community service, as a unique part of its focus.


The Goergen Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Learning is being presented to Ronald Dow, dean of the River Campus Libraries. Dow is being honored for his vision and achievements in leading the renaissance of Rush Rhees Library--not just physically, but in the broader sense of creating a student-centered place that enhances the overall environment for learning on campus.

Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Public Relations.

SEARCH:     Directory | Index | Contact | Calendar | News | Giving
                     ©Copyright 1999 — 2004 University of Rochester