University of Rochester

Skip Navigation Bar
August 18,


Previous article

In Brief




Currents home


Phone BookContact the UniversitySearch/IndexNews and Facts
Currents--University of Rochester newspaper


David Calkins, associate professor of ophthalmology, has been granted a $55,000 RPB Lew R. Wasserman Merit Award by Research to Prevent Blindness. Calkins, whose laboratory work focuses on understanding the genetic and molecular mechanisms that cause glaucoma, is one of 69 scientists at 34 institutions to be honored with the award.

The Department of English has named Judith Kitchen, writer in residence in the English department at SUNY College at Brockport, recipient of the Lillian Fairchild Award. The annual award is presented to a Rochester-area resident who has produced the best visual, literary, or musical work of art. Kitchen is being honored for her book The House on Eccles Road.

In a his new book, Richard Fenno Jr., the Distinguished University Professor and William J. Kenan Professor of Political Science, continues his work in Congressional studies with a closer look at African-American politics. Going Home: Black Representatives and Their Constituents focuses on four African-Americans elected to Congress and examines how they dealt with constituents.

Robert Foster, associate professor and chair of the anthropology department, spent four weeks in late spring as Professeur Invité at the Écoles des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales in Paris. Foster presented his research on the cultural dimensions of globalization in four different seminars. He also gave a seminar at the Centre de Recherche et de Documentation sur l'Océanie at the Université de Provence in Marseille.

Bette London, professor of English, has been named to the executive committee of the Association of Departments of English, a professional development network, sponsored by the Modern Language Association of America, for chairs of college and university English departments throughout the United States and Canada.

The Gallery Council of the Memorial Art Gallery has elected officers for the 2003­04 term. They are Mary Crowe, president; Roxanne Carr, first vice president; Wendy Shellman, second vice president; Libby Clay, recording secretary; Paula Sherwood, corresponding secretary; Barbara O'Hare, administrative treasurer; Maggie Kleinman, projects treasurer; and Laura Swett, past president. Other board members are Teddy Carr, programs; Paula Carter, membership; Maureen Dobies, nominating; Marcia Falk, hospitality; Nancy Foster, publicity; Carolyn Friedlander, docent representative; Anne Robotham, volunteer placement; and Annette Satloff, travel.

The Department of Philosophy has awarded the Colin and Ailsa Turbayne International Berkeley Essay Prize to Michael Collins Allers, a graduate student in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Michigan. The biennial Berkeley Essay Prize carries a $2,000 cash award.

A research paper coauthored by Greg Shaffer, professor of marketing and of economics and management at the William E. Simon Graduate School of Business Administration, has been selected by Emerald Management Review as one of the top 50 management articles for 2002. Emerald was the first management "abstracting" database in the United Kingdom, and today features the world's 400 top management publications. The publications include the top field journals from economics, finance, marketing, accounting, operations, and information systems.

Manish Shah, an attending physician in the Emergency Department at Strong Memorial Hospital, won a prestigious Dennis W. Jahnigen Career Development Scholars Award from the American Geriatrics Society for 2003. With $200,000 in Jahnigen funding, Shah plans to develop a novel Emergency Medical Services program to screen elderly patients for the risk of preventable injuries and diseases.

Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Public Relations.

SEARCH:     Directory | Index | Contact | Calendar | News | Giving
                     ©Copyright 1999 — 2004 University of Rochester