University of Rochester

Skip Navigation Bar
November 17,


Previous article

Next article

In Brief




Currents home


Phone BookContact the UniversitySearch/IndexNews and Facts
Currents--University of Rochester newspaper

Plutzik features novelist Lydia Davis


Author Lydia Davis will read from her work as part of the Plutzik Reading Series at 8 p.m. Wednesday, December 3, in the Welles-Brown Room in Rush Rhees Library.

Davis is the author of the novels Break It Down (1996) and The End of the Story (1995) and three story collections, most recently Samuel Johnson is Indignant (2001). Her works have appeared in numerous magazines, including Grand Street, Tin House, and The New Yorker, and anthologies including the Best American series. The recipient of the Whiting Writer's Award, the French-American Foundation Translation Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Lannan Literary Award, Davis is also a translator from French of numerous works of avant-garde literature, most recently Proust's Swann's Way (2003).

A graduate of Barnard College, Davis has taught fiction workshops at Columbia University and fiction and translation workshops at the University of California at San Diego. Currently, she teaches at the Milton Avery Graduate School of Bard College.

Administered by the Department of English, the Plutzik Series is one of the country's oldest and most prestigious literary reading programs. Established to honor the work of Hyam Plutzik, a distinguished poet and Deane Professor of Poetry and Rhetoric at the University, it has featured more than 175 noted writers, including Pulitzer Prize winners Anthony Hecht, Elizabeth Bishop, Richard Wilbur, and Galway Kinnell. For more information, call x5-4092.

Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Public Relations.

SEARCH:     Directory | Index | Contact | Calendar | News | Giving
                     ©Copyright 1999 — 2004 University of Rochester