University of Rochester
Currents--University of Rochester newspaper

Professors named AAAS fellows

Three scientists from the University were elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest federation of scientists. Asish Basu, professor of earth sciences; Robert L. McCrory, director of the Laboratory for Laser Energetics and professor of physics and professor of mechanical engineering; and Duncan Moore, cofounder of the University's Center for Optical Manufacturing and Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Professor of Optical Engineering and professor of biomedical engineering, were honored for their work at the cutting edge of science. The new fellows will be presented with certificates at the Fellows Forum during the 2005 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on February 19.

Basu was honored for fundamental contributions to the field of geochemical petrology and for connections made between mass extinctions, impact events, and flood basalt geochronology. Basu chaired the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences from 1986 to 1998. He was elected a fellow of the Geological Society of America in 2003 and won the 2004 American Federation of Mineralogical Societies Award.

McCrory was honored for his contributions to laser-produced plasma science and leadership in advancing toward inertial fusion. He has led the University's effort to become the world's leading laboratory to investigate direct-drive laser fusion, where laser beams compress a small target. Under his leadership, the Laboratory for Laser Energetics has discovered new methods for using and controlling laser beams in fusion experiments. McCrory came to the University in 1976. In 1984 he became professor of mechanical engineering and professor of physics in 1999. He served as executive director of governmental relations for the University from 1997 to 2004. A fellow of the American Physical Society, McCrory has served on several National Academy of Science committees on military space policy and plasma science.

Moore was honored for his distinguished contributions to modern optics, including design work on the Hubble Space Telescope and graded refractive index lenses, and for his leadership in U.S. science and technology policy. In the past decade, Moore has helped modernize lens design and manufacturing by using computers to design lenses more quickly and precisely. This research, along with similar work at Eastman Kodak Company, formed the basis for the Center for Optics Manufacturing, created in 1989 as a joint effort by universities, the optics industry, and the U.S. Department of Defense to enable optics companies to become more competitive.

A member of the faculty since 1974, Moore served as dean of engineering and applied sciences at the University and as president of the Optical Society of America. In 1998, he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Moore was confirmed by the U.S. Senate in the fall of 1997 for the position of associate director for technology in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, where he advised President Bill Clinton on technology policy, including the Next Generation Internet, Clean Car Initiative, new construction materials, and NASA.

Founded in 1848, AAAS works to advance science for human well-being through its more than 138,000 members and publishes the prestigious peer-reviewed journal Science.

Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Public Relations.