University of Rochester

Currents--University of Rochester newspaper

Plutzik continues with novelist Davis

Award-winning author Kathryn Davis will read from her work at 8 p.m. Tuesday, March 29, in Lander Auditorium in Hutchison Hall as part of the Plutzik Reading Series.

Davis is the author of several novels and the winner of the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize in 1988 for her novel Labrador. The prize is given by the Susan B. Anthony Institute for Gender and Women's Studies and the Department of English for best novel by an American woman. Davis also has received a Guggenheim Fellowship as well as the Morton Dauwen Zabel Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Besides Labrador, she is the author of the novels The Girl Who Trod on a Loaf, Hell, The Walking Tour, and most recently Versailles. Davis is professor of English at Skidmore College and resides in Vermont.

Free and open to the public, the Plutzik Series is one of the country's oldest and most prestigious literary reading programs and readings are free and open to the public. Established to honor the work of Hyam Plutzik, a distinguished poet and Deane Professor of Poetry and Rhetoric, it has featured more than 175 noted writers, including Pulitzer Prize winners. For more information, call x5-4092 or visit

Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Public Relations.