University of Rochester

Currents--University of Rochester newspaper

Award celebrates area writers

Entries are being accepted for the new Andrew Eiseman Writers Award, a prize given to local authors and sponsored by River Campus Libraries and Eiseman '79. Exclusively for Rochester-area writers, the award celebrates the art of written communication and recognizes full-length works in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, young people's literature, and playwriting.

"Never has one skill served me better than the ability to communicate through written words," says Eiseman, who graduated from the University with a degree in performing arts management. "While I work in the technology of numbers, bits, and bytes, it is the art and result of communication that make a real difference in the world. I so admire those who can write well in any discipline."

A Denver native, Eiseman worked in the high-tech industry as a program manager for telecom and cable TV companies in the United States, Europe, and Asia after earning his M.B.A. at the University of Denver. He has served on the boards of charities, including the 10th Mountain Trail Association in Aspen and the Center for American Places of Santa Fe. He is currently director of business and program management for software development at StorageTechnology Corporation.

To be eligible for the new awards, authors must live within a 50-mile radius of Rochester. All full-length books and plays must have been published during the 2004 calendar year; in the case of playwriting, the work must have been presented by a professional group during that same period but may have been published earlier. Entries cannot be self-published or e-books. A $1,000 prize will be awarded in each category.

The judges include Marge Betley, literary manager/resident dramaturg at Geva Theatre; Richard Ben Cramer, Pulitzer Prize winner and author; Eiseman; Joanna Hodgman, executive committee member of the Friends of the University Libraries and former English teacher; Grant Holcomb, director of the Memorial Art Gallery; Linda Sue Park, winner of the 2002 Newbery Medal for best children's book and author of other titles; Jerold Ramsey, professor emeritus of English; and Annette Weld '76 (MAS) '89 (PhD), advisory council member for River Campus Libraries.

Submissions are due by September 1 and can be sent to Andrea Weinstein, Room 236, Rush Rhees Library, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY 14627. Queries can be directed to or x3-1341. The awards will be announced December 1 and presented at a ceremony.

Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Public Relations.