University of Rochester

Currents--University of Rochester newspaper

Awards and Honors
Celia Applegate, associate professor of history, has received The DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) 2007 Book Prize from the German Studies Association for her book Bach in Berlin: Nation and Culture in Mendelssohn’s Revival of the St. Matthew Passion. The award honors an outstanding book on German language, literature, history, political science, or cultural studies published during the preceding two years.
Shaw Chen, professor and chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering, has received the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences’ Lifetime Achievement Award. Kevin Parker, dean of the school, honored Chen with a plaque for his distinguished accomplishments in research, education, and leadership, in a ceremony on September 20.
James P. Wilmot Cancer Center’s Jonathan Friedberg was honored September 29 during the annual Gilda’s Club Gala. Friedberg, associate professor of hematology/oncology, received the 2007 Jacob Gitelman Award for outstanding service to people with cancer in the Rochester community.
Joanne Larson, Michael W. Scandling Professor of Education and chair of the teaching and curriculum program at the Warner School of Education, was appointed to serve as the next chair of the Standing Committee on Research for the National Council of Teachers of English, a professional association of educators in English studies, literacy, and language arts. Her three-year term will begin immediately following the 2007 Annual Convention in November.
The ASM International Materials Information Society has awarded Professor James C. M. Li, the Albert A. Hopeman Professor of Engineering, with this year’s Albert Easton White Distinguished Teacher Award. The award is given to honor his long-standing and diverse contributions to materials science, as well as the enthusiasm and skill he brings to teaching. Li works on new catalysts for fuel cells to improve their durability and reduce costs.
Tim Mosmann, director of the David H. Smith Center for Vaccine Biology and Immunology at the Medical Center, has won the 2008 Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize for his contribution to the field of immunology. The prize, which includes a cash award of 100,000 euros, is given each year by the Scientific Council of the Paul Ehrlich Foundation to recognize achievement in immunology, oncology, hematology, and microbiology.
Dennis O’Donnell, University sports information director, has won a writing award from CoSIDA for his story covering Rochester’s 1-0 victory over SUNY Oneonta in the second round of the NCAA Division III playoffs in November. His story finished second nationally in the event coverage category.
Sally Quataert, a recognized leader in bioanalytical method development for vaccines, has been appointed to the newly created position director of core facilities for the School of Medicine and Dentistry. As director, Quataert will be responsible for the business, financial, logistical, regulatory, and personnel management of all core research facilities, effective September 1. She also will be charged with setting performance standards for each facility, in consultation with core directors and user groups.
David Williams, William G. Allyn Professor of Medical Optics and director of the Center for Visual Science, has won the 2007 Alfred W. Bressler Prize in Vision Science, awarded each year by the Jewish Guild for the Blind. Williams is being recognized for his extensive and groundbreaking research on the mechanisms of human vision.
Previous story     Next story