Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu


May 23, 2012


Joseph Eberly, the Andrew Carnegie Professor of Physics and professor of optics, has been named the winner of the Optical Society’s 2012 Distinguished Service Award. Eberly is being honored for his service as founding editor of the journal Optics Express, his leadership while serving as president, and his commitment in serving the Optical Society.

Joseph Eberly

Beth Jörgensen’s book, Documents in Crisis: Nonfiction Literatures in Twentieth Century Mexico (SUNY Press), has been selected by the Mexico Section of the Latin American Studies Association as the best book on Mexico in the humanities published in 2011. Jörgensen, professor of Spanish, examines Mexican narrative nonfiction, including autobiography, memoir, historical essay, testimony, chronicle, and ethnographic life narratives written in response to crises such as revolution, earthquakes, industrial disasters, and political and labor unrest. She will receive the award May 25 in San Francisco.

Beth Jörgensen

Margaret Kearney, vice provost and University dean of graduate studies and professor of nursing, was recently named editor-in-chief of the academic journal Research in Nursing & Health.

Margaret Kearney

John Jaenike, professor of biology, has been named a recipient of a grant from Grand Challenges Explorations, an initiative funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Jaenike’s project, which will apply his previous research to help protect crops from pests without using toxic pesticides, is one of more than 100 projects funded in the eighth round of the Grand Challenges Explorations program.

John Jaenike

Susan Groth, assistant professor of nursing, was recently selected as a 2012 fellow of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners. A clinician, educator, and scientist, Groth is widely recognized for nearly two decades of work to improve women’s health, particularly in the area of pregnancy-related obesity. She will be inducted with 42 other nurse-practitioner leaders from across the country at the academy’s 27th national conference in Orlando on June 22.

Susan Groth

Shianne Chatarjee ’12 has been named the 2011–12 University Student Employee of the Year. Chatarjee, who works for the Office of Alumni Relations as the Meliora Weekend student program assistant, was recognized for the contributions she made to Alumni Relations.

Shianne Chatarjee

Eastman student places second in business plan competition

Emily WozniakEmily Wozniak, a first-year master’s student pursuing degrees in horn performance and music education and a certificate in arts leadership at the Eastman School, won second place in the New York State Business Plan Competition for her business, “Sound ExChange.” The goal of Sound ExChange is to offer a new musical experience by breaking down the barriers that normally exist between the audience and performers. At concerts, audience members are encouraged to sit within the orchestra, which allows them to connect with musicians and be immersed in the sound.

Previous story    Next story