Tools Search Main Menu

Staff Community Service Award

December 14, 2007

I am today establishing the Staff Community Service Award. Annually, an award of $2,500, which I shall personally fund, shall be made to honor a University of Rochester non-management staff member whose career best exemplifies service to the University of Rochester or the greater Rochester community.

The initial recipient of the award will be Latasha E. Shaw. The prize will be awarded to the Latasha Shaw Foundation.

The tragic death of Latasha E. Shaw on September 29th has deeply affected many of us in the University of Rochester community. It is saddening enough to lose any employee at the age of 36, but so much harder to bear when she was fatally stabbed when she went to an intersection in northwest Rochester where her daughter earlier had been assaulted.

Her life was a testament to the value she placed in helping others. She was a friend to many at our University, a leader of the River Campus Chapter of SEIU Local 200 United, a woman of indomitable courage with great love for her family. She was also someone remembered for always smiling, for the joy she took in being with her friends, for her support of colleagues.

In subsequent years, the Associate Vice President for Human Resources will chair a selection committee otherwise composed of non-management employees.

The 2008 recipient will be honored at the Annual Employee Service Awards Dinner to be held in June 2008.

Staff Community Service Award


The Staff Community Service Award (SCSA) will be awarded annually to a non-management staff person in recognition of outstanding contributions to either the University community or the greater Rochester community.

Nominations are accepted to recognize achievement of a singular outstanding event or the continuous outstanding and dedicated service the individual has provided over a long period of time.


All active University of Rochester staff may be nominated other than supervisory and management personnel. Nominations may recognize:

  • Long-serving high achievement within the University, a community organization or neighborhood.
  • An outstanding singular accomplishment.
  • A record of significant and sustained community service such as volunteering with charitable, non-profit organizations.
  • A nominee who has demonstrated service by either:
    • “leading the charge” in order to initiate a University or community project, or
    • Served as an inspiration to others through her or his persistent excellence, or
    • Service to community that had a positive impact on individuals within that community.
  • Previous award recipients are ineligible.

The Award

  • A cash award of $2,500 will be presented to the recipient.
  • A plaque in honor of all recipients will be placed in a prominent location within the University. Each year the name of the honoree will be added.
  • A replica plaque will be awarded to each honoree.


  • In March of each year, the Associate Vice President for Human Resources will issue a call to the UR Community for nominations.
  • The committee will select the honoree based on the criteria noted.

Selection Committee

  • Associate Vice President – Human Resources
  • Director – Campus Dining
  • Registered Nurse – Strong Memorial Hospital
  • Non-Nurse – Strong Memorial Hospital
  • Service Worker – 1199 Rep
  • Service worker – IUOE Rep
  • Service Worker – URSOA Rep
  • Non-Union – River Campus
  • Non-Union – River Campus


  • Marcia Furey
  • Doris Robinson

Service Awards Dinner

  • June 2008