University of Rochester
Frederick Douglass Institute for African and African American Studies

Frederick Douglass Institute Faculty

The Institute invites several visiting speakers each year, and sponsors conferences that are linked to the research and teaching interests of our faculty. The Institute now offers Faculty Fellowship and Graduate Certificate in addition to research grants to faculty associates to support research in African and African-American Studies.

Faculty Associate

Title

Office & Contact

Daniel Beaumont
PhD (1991), Princeton University

Associate Professor,
Department of Religion and Classics

431 Rush Rhees Library
(585) 275-5224
daniel.beaumont@rochester.edu

Paul Burgett
Ph.D., Eastman School of Music

Vice President, Senior Advisor to the President, and University Dean

Adjunct Professor,
Department of Music

236 Wallis Hall
(585) 273-2284
paul.burgett@rochester.edu

Curt Cadorette
Ph.D. (1985), St. Michael's College, University of Toronto

Associate Professor,
Department of Religion and Classics

483 Rush Rhees Library
(585) 275-5378
curt.cadorette@rochester.edu

Anthony Carter
Ph.D., Cambridge University

Professor,
Department of Anthropology

421 Lattimore
(585) 275-8734
anthony.carter@rochester.edu

Kristin Doughty
PhD (2011), University of Pennsylvania

Assistant Professor,
Anthropology

421 Lattimore
(585) 275-5155
kristin.doughty@rochester.edu

Joshua Dubler
PhD (2008), Princeton University

Assistant Professor,
Department of Religion and Classics

449 Rush Rhees Library
(585) 275-4756
joshua.dubler@rochester.edu

Ayala Emmett
Ph.D., University of Rochester

Associate Professor,
Department of Anthropology

437 Lattimore
(585) 275-8736
ayala.emmett@rochester.edu

Stanley Engerman
Ph.D. (1962), Johns Hopkins

John Munro Professor,
Department of Economics

203 Harkness Hall
(585) 275-3165
s.engerman@rochester.edu

Emil Homerin
Ph.D. (1987), University of Chicago

Professor,
Department of Religion and Classics

430 Rush Rhees Library
(585) 275-4760
emil.homerin@rochester.edu

Larry Hudson
Ph.D. (1989), Keele University, U.K.

Associate Professor,
Department of History

460 Rush Rhees Library
(585) 275-4557
larry.hudson@rochester.edu

Joseph Inikori
Ph.D. (1973), University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Professor,
Department of History

437 Rush Rhees Library
(585) 275-9020
joseph.inikori@rochester.edu

Cilas Kemedjio
PhD (1995), Ohio State University

FDI Director

Associate Professor,
Department of Modern Languages & Cultures

320 Morey Hall
(585) 273-5346
cilaskemedjio@rochester.edu

Stephanie Li
Ph.D., Cornell University

Assistant Professor,
Department of English

319 Morey Hall
(585) 275-5760
stephanie.li@rochester.edu

Elias Mandala
Ph.D. (1983), Minnesota

Professor,
Department of History

439 Rush Rhees Library
(585) 275-2058
elias.c.mandala@rochester.edu

John Michael
Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University

Professor,
Department of English

404 Morey Hall
(585) 275-9257
john.michael@rochester.edu

Joan Saab
Ph.D. (1999), New York University

Associate Professor,
Department of Art and Art History

423A Morey Hall
(585) 275-7922
joan.saab@rochester.edu

Maya Sen
PhD (2012), Harvard University
JD (2004), Stanford University

Assistant Professor,
Department of Political Science

322 Harkness Hall
(585) 273-5840
msen@ur.rochester.edu

Valeria Sinclair-Chapman
Ph.D. (2002), Ohio State University

Senior Lecturer,
Department of Political Science

335 Harkness Hall
(585) 275-7252
valeria.sinclair-chapman@rochester.edu

Jeffrey Tucker
Ph.D., Princeton University

Associate Professor,
Department of English

418 Morey Hall
(585) 275-2064
jeffrey.tucker@rochester.edu

Sharon Willis
Ph.D. (1984), Cornell University

Professor,
Department of Art and Art History

517 Morey Hall
(585) 273-5621
s.willis@rochester.edu