2015–2016 Season

Click on a name a reader's name to bring up their photograph and information.

Next Reader

Mary Jo Bang

Matt Valentine

Mary Jo Bang

Welles-Brown Room, Rush Rhees Library

October 29, 2015, 5:00 PM

Mary Jo Bang is the author of seven books of poems: Apology for Want (1997, winner of the Bakeless Prize); Louise in Love (2001, winner of the Alice Fay di Castagnola Award from the Poetry Society of America); The Downstream Extremity of the Isle of Swans (2001); The Eye Like a Strange Balloon (2004); Elegy (2007, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award and a New York Times Notable Book); and The Bride of E (2009).  Her translation of Dante's Inferno, with illustrations by Henrik Drescher, was published by Graywolf Press in 2012. Her most recent collection is The Last Two Seconds. She’s been the recipient of a Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University, a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, and a 2015 Berlin Prize fellowship at the American Academy in Berlin. She is a Professor of English and Creative Writing at Washington University in St. Louis.