Advancement Awards

School of Nursing

We are proud to present you with these exceptional award winners.

Dean’s Medal

Established in 2008, the Dean’s Medal recognizes extraordinary service, philanthropy, and leadership to the School, and dedication and commitment that inspire others to take leadership roles at the University. Individuals, families, associations, corporations, or foundations may be recognized. It is among the highest honors given by the School.

2023: Margaret H. Kearney

2022: Mary-Therese B. Dombeck ’78N (MS), ’84 (MA), ’89 (PhD)

2020: Patricia A. Chiverton, ’80N (MS), ’91W (EdD)

2019: Harriet Kitzman, PhD, RN, FAAN

2018: Jane I. Tuttle, PhD, ’79N, ’84N (MS)

2017: Carol Brink ’56N (DPL), ’62N

2016: Madeline Hubbard Schmitt ’65N, ’70(MA)

2015: Karen Webb Sutherland ’61N and Robert M. Sutherland ’66M (PhD)

2014: Janet C. Scala ’55N

2013: Elaine C. Hubbard

2012: Fay W. Whitney ’60, ’61N

2011: Jean E. Johnson

2010: Dr. Bernard B. Brody ’51M (MD), Rachel B. Bandych, JD, and Sarah A. Epstein

2009: Dr. Loretta C. Ford ’00 (ScD), EdD, RN, PNP, FAAN, FAANP

John N. Wilder1 Award

Established in 2008, the John N. Wilder Award honors an individual, family, association, corporation, or foundation whose philanthropy inspires others in support of an “Ever Better” University of Rochester. The award is named for John Wilder, first president (chairman) of the University’s Board of Trustees.

2020: The Patrick P. Lee Foundation

2017: Barbara Vallone

2015: Lisa H. Norsen ’77N, ’83N (MS), ’92N (PMC), ’07N (PhD)

2014: The Davenport-Hatch Foundation

2013: T.C. Lewis ’60 and Pamela McQuilkin Lewis ’62

2012: Jonathan G. Terry

2011: Connie Lynn Leary ’59N

2010: Dr. Evelyn Lutz ’55N, ’63

2009: Jonathan G. Terry

Distinguished Alumnus Award

Established in 1984, the Distinguished Alumnus Award recognizes alumni whose exceptional professional achievements, contributions to their chosen field, and service to the School of Nursing have brought honor to themselves and to the University of Rochester.

2023: Dianne C. Morrison-Beedy ’93N (PhD)


Jacquelyn C. Campbell ’86N (PhD)
Sally Ellis Fletcher ’10N (PhD)

2020: LaRon E. Nelson, ’02N, ’04N (MS), ’09N (PhD)

2018: Nancy Dianis ’85N (MS)

2017: Christine M. Tebaldi ’96, ’96N, ’01N (MS)

2016: Cynthia A. Connolly ’87N (MS)

2015: Patricia A. Witzel ’75N, ’84S (MBA)

2014: Patricia A. Tabloski ’89N (PhD)

2013: Maryjoan D. Ladden ’78N (MS)


Carol A. Brink ’56N, ’62N
Patricia S. Larrabee ’77N (MS)

2011: Patricia W. Stone ’97N (PhD)

2010: Carolyn T. Friedlander ’68N (MSN)

Humanitarian Award


Kathy A. Hiltunen ’78N, ’91S (MBA)
Kim Urbach ’98N (MS)

2020: Megan Reynolds, ’19N

Established in 2013, the Humanitarian Award honors an alumnus whose work as a practitioner, administrator, volunteer, or researcher has had a profound impact on those most in need.

2018: Elizabeth Sloand, PhD, ’75N

2017: Terry Jean Yonker ’03N (MS)

2014: Capt. Patricia M. Bull, USN, ’74N

2013: Keri L. Baker ’11N

Legacy Award

Established in 2013, the Legacy Award recognizes an individual or family who has made a significant commitment to the School of Nursing in honor or in memory of a nurse affiliated with the School who has demonstrated exemplary care for patients and their families, or for their service to the nursing profession.

2023: Dennis L. Kitzman

2022: Elizabeth Marie Nolan ’78N (MS)


The Andolina Family
The Karch Family

2018: Steven R. Young and Susan A. Young

2017: Dr. Pamela York Klainer ’80W (EdD)

2016: John C. Schottmiller ’53

2015: Spindler Family Foundation


Aldo F. Fioravanti
Thelma J. Wells


Robert H. Hurlbut ’12N (ScD)
Richard I. Mulvey