Skip to main content


Leadership Awards


Wilson Commons Student Activities Awards are given out at the Leadership Appreciation Reception, which takes place at the beginning of Spring Semester.

Alice DeSimone Award

2018 Applications OPEN

The Alice DeSimone Award is given each year in memory of Alice DeSimone, who served for seventeen years as an Administrative Assistant in the Office of the Dean of Students. This award is presented to students whose contributions to co-curricular life at the University have strengthened community spirit and involvement. Nominees need not be in high profile or formal positions of leadership to be considered. Instead, this award recognizes dedication, enthusiasm, collaboration, and positive role modeling as leadership traits that help promote and maintain a strong quality of life for all. This award can and will be given to more than one student of the junior, senior, or 5th year program (KEY or Take 5).

2017 Winners:

  • Vivian Li
  • Sarah Bjornland
  • Kylie Sargeant
  • Md. Tanveer Karim
  • Isabel Miller
  • Margaret Curtis
  • Kathryn Labine

Ana Hubbard Award

2018Applications OPEN

The Ana Hubbard Award was established in 2009 by friends and family in memory of Ana Hubbard, class of 1999. Wilson Commons Student Activities presents the Ana Hubbard Award in recognition of a student whose participation in a student organization has improved their life, provided valuable skills and contributed to the vitality of their student organization and campus community. This award will be given to a member of the junior, senior, or 5th year program (Take 5 or KEY).

2017 Winner: Aurek Ransom

Outstanding New Student Organization Award

2018 Nominations OPEN

Outstanding New Student Organization Award: Awarded to an undergraduate, University-recognized student organization that has been around between 1-4 years. The organization also needs to have a primary advisor from the Rochester Center for Community Leadership or Wilson Commons Student Activities office.  This student organization demonstrates moving beyond the expectations of a startup organization. Organizations will also exhibit a long-lasting impact on the campus environment for all students. Self-nominations accepted. Organizations must be in good standing with the Students' Association Government and Wilson Commons Student Activities.

2017 Winner:

SEGway (Survivor Empowerment Group)

Student Organization Photo Winner

Winners 2017:

  1. Chinese Students' Association (CSA)= Best Group Portrait - the selected photo best captures an organization's members in a thoughtful reflective moment.
  2. Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE)= Best CCC Page - this prize is given to the organization that best utilizes the options on CCC to visually showcase their organization.
  3. Korean Percussion Group (HON)= Best Creative Group - the selected photo captures the vision and spirit of an organization in an inspired way.

Leadership Dinner Ad