University of Rochester

Currents--University of Rochester newspaper

Eastman Medals honor visionary physicians


Carola Eisenberg

Nobel Prize winner Carola Eisenberg will receive the George Eastman Medal and deliver the School of Medicine and Dentistry’s Commencement address on May 15 in Eastman Theatre. Eisenberg shared the Nobel Peace Prize as a founding member of Physicians for Human Rights and has taken her pledge to protect human rights around the world.

Joining Eisenberg in receiving the Eastman Medal will be William Bonnez, Richard Reichman, and Robert Rose—the trio of Rochester virologists who developed the technology that produced a vaccine against the human papillomaviruses, which can cause cervical cancer.


Robert Rose, Richard Reidman, and William Bonnez

The Eastman Medal is named for Eastman Kodak founder and University benefactor George Eastman. Awarded for the first time in 2000—marking the University’s sesquicentennial celebration—the medal is given to individuals who, through their achievement and dedicated service, embody the ideals for which the University stands.

Previous story     Next story