Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu


May 10, 2010


Among the nation’s best

mock trial members

The University’s Mock Trial Team (above) placed among the top 17 teams in the American Mock Trial Association’s National Championship Tournament, held April 16 to 18 in Memphis, Tenn. In addition, seniors Jason Scheff and Dinisha Fernando received All American Witness honors for their performances at the tournament. Visit the AMTA’s Web site at for details.

The University’s Debate Team finished the season ranked 10th in the nation. Notable performances throughout the year came from Sean Delahanty ’13, who was named the top new speaker in the United States at the Junior Varsity/Novice National Tournament, and Vijay Kasschau ’12, who placed eighth in the nation in the Junior Varsity Speakers division.

McDonoughJoyce McDonough, an associate professor of linguistics and brain and cognitive sciences, has been awarded a two-year, $201,670 National Science Foundation Polar Institute grant to develop an interactive online speech atlas of endangered native languages of the Mackenzie Basin, a vast and sparsely populated region of northwestern Canada. The Speech Atlas will focus on the sound systems of the area’s Athabaskan, or as speakers prefer, Dene languages. It will be developed as an online site for sharing information, research, and educational resources between the academic institution and the indigenous communities, especially for those members who are interested in language documentation and revitalization.

ErcoliCarlo Ercoli, an associate professor, chair, and program director for Eastman Institute for Oral Health’s Prosthodontic Division, has been named the 77th president of the American Prosthodontic Society. The Society works to advance prosthetic dentistry and improve patient treatment by integrating the skills and expertise of the generalist, specialist, and dental lab technologist through education and research. Ercoli has served as chair of several society committees, vice president, and president-elect. In addition to promoting research, education, and fellowship among its 450 members worldwide, Ercoli’s goal is to establish affiliations with other oral health international organizations.

KemedjioCilas Kemedjio, an associate professor of French and francophone studies, will deliver the keynote address at his Alma mater, the University of Yaoundé, in Cameroon, at a conference dedicated to francophone poet, author, and politician, Aimé Césaire. The conference is the first of its kind to take place in Africa. Professor Kemedjio has also been elected to the Executive Council of the African Literature Association, a society designed to promote the study of African literature in the United States and beyond.

IglewskiBarbara Iglewski, a professor of microbiology and immunology, has been named director of International Programs for the Medical Center.

The appointment is designed to strengthen current efforts with students and institutions abroad, including developing research partnerships and educational opportunities, increasing exchanges of students and faculty, conducting clinical trials, and exploring and creating new opportunities for the Medical Center. Much of the effort is focused on China, India, and other areas of Asia, and will supplement efforts already underway through the dean’s office of the School of Medicine and Dentistry.

For 23 years until last year, she was chair of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology. She was a key participant in the strategic planning process 15 years ago that rejuvenated basic science research at the Medical Center. She has also served as vice provost for research and dean of graduate education.

The Edward Peck Curtis Awards for Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Student
were established by the Curtis family in 1984 to encourage excellence in the work of graduate students who assist in undergraduate teaching. The seven PhD students selected by Bruce Jacobs, vice provost and university dean of graduate studies, for the 2010 awards are:

  • Meghan Clark, Department of Chemistry
  • Stanislav Kornienko, Department of Economics
  • Mehdi Manshadi, Department of Computer Science
  • Sarah Marlowe, Department of Music Theory, Eastman School
  • Burke Scarbrough, College Writing Program and Warner School
  • Alexander Stefaniak, Department of Musicology, Eastman School
  • Kathryn Van Wert, College Writing Program and Department of English

An awards luncheon with Provost Ralph Kuncl and Jacobs was held in April, where each was presented with a check for $500. In addition, an award of $250 was to be made to the nominating department in which the teaching was done for improvements in undergraduate course materials or laboratory equipment.

Previous story    Next story