Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu


September 21, 2011


Duncan Moore
Robert Novy-Marx
Roger Oskvig
Regis O'Keefe


Duncan Moore, the Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Professor of Optical Engineering, has been elected president of the International Commission for Optics. Moore is the fourth American elected president of the commission, which was formed in 1947. The commission focuses on providing support for optics and photonics in developing economies.

Robert Novy-Marx, an assistant professor of finance at the Simon School, has won an international award for his research in the field of finance. Novy-Marx was awarded the 2011 Spangler Institute for Quantitative Asset Management Prize for the Best Paper in the Review of Finance for his study, “Operating Leverage.” In the study, Novy-Marx derives and tests implications of operating leverage for the cross-section of expected returns.

Geriatrician Roger Oskvig, an associate professor of medicine, was recognized with the inaugural WXXI President’s Award following the production of the 100th episode of Second Opinion, a national health series produced by WXXI.

Regis O’Keefe, chair of the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation, has been appointed to the NIH Council of Councils. The National Institutes of Health council was established to advise the NIH director on priorities, strategic planning, and policy matters that extend beyond the research agenda of any specific area of health or medicine.

Judith Baumhauer, a professor of orthopaedics and director the Medical Center’s Orthopaedics Foot and Ankle Institute, has been installed as president of the American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society, the first time in its 42-year history that a woman will lead the professional organization.

Cyril Meyerowitz, director of the Eastman Institute for Oral Health, was presented the Foundations of Excellence in Research Award from the New York State Dental Foundation. The award recognizes his commitment to applying creative, science-based methods to foster greater understanding of and to improve overall oral health.

Halley Orshan ’12 (known to the University community as Darcey Riley) has received a $10,000 scholarship from the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. Skylab astronaut Ed Gibson ’59 presented her with the award during a public presentation and ceremony Sept. 15. Riley, who is the first Rochester student to be selected as an Astronaut Scholar, is a senior triple-majoring in computer science, mathematics, and linguistics.

Previous story    Next story