Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu


February 17, 2015

Medical Center Board recognizes outstanding staff achievements

group of people holding plaques

Nine individuals and four teams were honored by the Medical Center Board for their personal and professional dedication to delivering a patient care experience that demonstrates integrity, compassion, accountability, respect and excellence.

Medical Center Board Chair George Hamlin presented the 2014 Board Excellence Awards during the board’s annual meeting in January.
The awards are among the highest honors given at the Medical Center, and are the only institution-wide awards whose winners span the Medical Center’s divisions, including Strong Memorial Hospital, Eastman Institute for Oral Health, the School of Nursing, and the School of Medicine and Dentistry.

The awards, presented annually, laud the extraordinary efforts of physicians, nurses, clinicians, and support staff. This year individuals and teams in 13 categories were recognized.

“Our honorees demonstrate absolute dedication to delivering on their commitments to integrity, compassion, accountability, respect, and excellence,” said Hamlin at the ceremony. Winners were also recognized at a dinner after presentation by featured keynote speaker Dennis Whalen, president of the Healthcare Association of New York State.

Individual Excellence Awards

Maureen Magee, manager, patient accounts data control—administration
Aretha Gordon, outpatient access specialist, orthopaedics at Clinton Crossing—clerical
Jessica Biondi, child life specialist, pediatrics—clinical
Sue Gibbs, administrator for faculty affairs—Eastman Institute for Oral Health
Mark Ott, director, Center for Nursing Quality, Safety and Patient Outcomes, Critical Care—nurse
Matt Miller, medical director, perioperative services, otolaryngology/OR—physician

Team Excellence Awards

Neuromedicine ICU Team
Specialty Pharmacy, Oncology Team
Radiation Safety Unit Team
Transcatheter Aortic Valve Implantation Team

Robert Joynt Kindness Awards

John Andolina, primary care—physician
Elizabeth Mayewski, critical care—nurse
Kamaran Moss, student patient safety assistant, transplant unit—staff

Read more about the recipients at

Previous story    Next story