Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Tools Search Main Menu

Presidential Commission on Race and Diversity

Joel Seligman, former University president and CEO, announced the creation of the Presidential Commission on Race and Diversity in a message to the University community on November 23, 2015. Seligman formed the Commission in response to a petition submitted to the president by minority student leaders demanding that the administration “implement immediate and lasting changes that will reduce intolerable acts of racism that students of color endure at our university.” The commission was chaired by Paul Burgett, vice president and senior advisor to the president, and Richard Feldman, current University president and former dean of the College, and included faculty, students, administrators, and staff.

The Commission held its first meeting on December 3, 2015 and issued an interim report to Seligman on January 31, 2016. The Commission issued its final report on October 26, 2016. Seligman announced in a message that he would accept the principal recommendations of the final report, specifically including its basic recommendations on Leadership, Students, Faculty, Staff, and Climate and Community.

Reports and Responses


Commission on Race and Diversity Membership

  • Paul Burgett, co-chair, vice president and senior advisor to the president
  • Richard Feldman, co-chair, dean of the College
  • Nancy Ares, associate professor and faculty diversity officer at the Warner School of Education;
  • Nick Bigelow, cochair of the Faculty Senate and the Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Physics and Optics;
  • Linda Chaudron, associate vice president and senior associate dean for inclusion and culture development at the Medical Center;
  • Carin Cole, assistant dean of student engagement at the Simon Business School;
  • Justin Delinois, member of Spanish and Latin Students Association (SALSA), and a student in the College;
  • Grant Dever, president of the Students’ Association in the College;
  • Donna Brink Fox, senior associate dean of academic and student affairs and the Eisenhart Professor of Music Education;
  • Charlisa Goodlet, president of Douglass Leadership House and a student in the College;
  • Myra Henry, director of administrative services for River Campus Libraries;
  • James Johnson, professor of political science;
  • Anthony Kinslow, associate vice president for human resources;
  • Vivian Lewis, deputy to the president and vice provost for faculty development and diversity;
  • LaRon Nelson, assistant professor and Dean’s Endowed Fellow in Health Disparities at the School of Nursing;
  • Anne Nofziger, chair of the Medical Faculty Council and associate professor of family medicine;
  • Gail Norris, vice president and general counsel;
  • Guylda Richard, president of the Student National Medical Association and a student at the School of Medicine and Dentistry;
  • Jonathan Teoh, secretary of the Chinese Students’ Association, and a student in the College; and
  • Andrew Winslow, president of Students’ Association at the Eastman School of Music.