Skip to content

Institutional Office of Equity and Inclusion

Presidential Stronger as One Diversity Awards

Presidential Stronger As One Diversity Awards

The Presidential Stronger As One Awards honor faculty, staff, students, the Greater Rochester Community, and a member of the Board of Trustees whose actions, activities, and/or accomplishments support our five institutional equity, diversity, and inclusion priorities toward making the University of Rochester a welcoming and inclusive environment. The recipients of the awards model equity, access, and transformative change where all students, staff, and faculty can thrive, change and make the organization and its internal and external communities Ever Better.



HEED award graphic

Insight Into Diversity: Higher Education Excellence in Diversity Award

The University of Rochester has received the 2021 Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, the oldest and largest diversity-focused publication in higher education.

As a recipient of the annual HEED Award—a national honor recognizing US colleges and universities that demonstrate an outstanding commitment to diversity and inclusion—Rochester will be featured, along with the other recipients, in the INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine.

2020 Presidential Diversity Award

University of Rochester President Sarah Mangelsdorf is posing with three Presidential Diversity Award recipients.

From left: President Sarah Mangelsdorf; Caroline Nestro ’18W (PhD), a senior associate in the Department of Psychiatry; Kit Miller, director of the M. K. Gandhi Institute for Nonviolence; and Vice President for Equity and Inclusion Mercedes Ramírez Fernández. Nestro and Miller are the recipients of the 2020 Presidential Diversity Award.

Other Diversity Awards

Visiting Scholars Fund

This award seeks to attract visiting scholars who will contribute to the University’s Inclusive Community goals to provide excellence in research, teaching, and service.

School of Medicine and Dentistry: Faculty Diversity Award

Established in 2013, the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry Faculty Diversity Award recognizes the exceptional contributions and accomplishments of medical school faculty to foster a diverse and inclusive medical school community.