Two Former Professors are Also Honored

The University of Rochester's Department of Mathematics is well-represented in the first-ever round of fellows announced by The American Mathematical Society. The AMS has named Professor Frederick Cohen, Professor Douglas Ravenel, and Professor Emeritus Joseph Neisendorfer of the Department of Mathematics to its inaugural class of Fellows for 2013. Also named were Sam Gitler, a professor at the University from 1987 to 2002 and past department chair, and John Moore, a current research associate who served on the faculty from 1987 to 1998.

The AMS started the fellows program to recognize "members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics."

All five of the University-connected mathematicians have made their marks in the field of topology, which involves the study of geometric properties.

"The mathematics department has long been proud of our strength in topology," said Allen Greenleaf, department chair. "These fellowships confirm that we have one of the most influential topology groups in the country."

The American Mathematical Society, with headquarters in Providence, RI, was founded in 1888 to further the interests of mathematical research and scholarship.

In all, the AMS named 1119 mathematicians—about 3 percent of its membership, representing more than 600 institutions—to its inaugural class of fellows.