Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Tools Search Main Menu

Student Life Awards honor outstanding contributions to campus community

April 18, 2018

Eighteen individuals and three groups will be honored at the College’s annual Student Life Awards dinner on Friday, April 20.

The formal dinner is hosted by Dean of Students Matthew Burns and runs from 4:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. in Feldman Ballroom at Douglass Commons.

The awards, also known as “the Rockys,” are divided into Individual Leadership Awards and Student Organization and Programming Awards. Students are nominated by faculty, staff, and peers. This year, about 250 students and groups were nominated.

All of the winners will receive engraved glass trophies and certificates at Friday’s dinner. Watch the ceremony as it happens at

Here’s a list of this year’s winners. For more information about each award, visit the Rochester Center for Community Leadership’s Student Life Awards webpage.

Individual Leadership Awards

Caryl EnglishCaryl English ’18
Award for Outstanding Fraternity and Sorority Leadership
Miles PerryMiles Perry ’20
Eli & Mildred Sokol Prize
Aleem GriffithsAleem Griffiths ’18
Seth H. & Harriet S. Terry Prize
Jackie MeyerJacqueline Meyer ’18
Percy Dutton Prize
Alexander PavlicinAlexander Pavlicin ’21
Andrew Fried Prize
Oluwatobi AbubakareOluwatobi Abubakare ’21
Michael Lowenstein Memorial Award
Orin TroyerOrin Troyer ’18
Gwen M. Greene First Generation Senior Award
Laura Cowie-HaskellLaura Cowie-Haskell ’18
Simeon Cheatham Award
Pech ChhunPech Chhun ’19
Award for Campus Contributions
Bienfait MugenzaBienfait Mugenza ’21
Delno Sisson Prize
Ewin JosephEwin Joseph ’21
Award for Freshman Leadership
Kara MillerKara Miller ’18
Linda Muise Award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Life
Sidhant AhluwaliaSidhant Ahluwalia ’18
Transfer Student Award
Daniella CookDaniella Cook ’19
Logan R. Hazen Award for Outstanding Contribution to Residential Life
Zhongyi ZuoZhongyi Zuo ’20
The Communal Principles Award
Paul StevePaul Steve ’19
Award for Athletic Leadership
Jacob BranieckiJacob Braniecki ’18
Rob Rouzer Award for Excellence in Student Government Leadership
Morgan MackayMorgan Mackay ’18
Award for Campus Contributions

Student Organization and Programming Awards

Pan-African Students AssociationPan-African Students’ Association
Award for Excellence in Programming
Student Programming BoardStudent Programming Board
Outstanding Student Organization Award
Society of Physics StudentsSociety of Physics Students
Award for Excellence in Creative Co-sponsorship


Category: Student Life

Contact Author(s)