Annual Honors

The University and its academic units recognized several alumni and friends for their achievements and service this fall.

Arts, Sciences, and Engineering

DEAN'S MEDAL

Trustee Hugo Sonnenschein '61

Sonnenschein is the Adam Smith Distinguished Service Professor and president emeritus at the University of Chicago.

JAMES S. ARMSTRONG ALUMNI SERVICE AWARD

Trustee Michael Jones '76

Jones is the senior vice president and senior portfolio manager for Federated Clover Investment Advisors.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD, SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

Trustee Gail Lione '71

Lione served as the executive vice president, general counsel, secretary, and chief compliance officer for Harley-Davidson from 1997 to 2010.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD, HAJIM SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING

Lynn Seppala '74 (PhD)

Seppala is an optical engineer at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, where he is the main optical designer for the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD

Daniel Cantor '81

Cantor is the managing member and chief compliance officer for the New York City-based CK Advisors, an investment company he cofounded in 2006.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD

Joseph Cunningham '67 (MA)

Cunningham is a trial attorney and founder of the Washington, D.C., area law firm Cunningham & Associates.

School of Medicine and Dentistry

DEAN'S MEDAL

Robert Sutherland '66M (PhD)

A former Rochester faculty member and retired researcher, Sutherland helped found the University's Technology Development Fund.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD

Trustee Paul Griner '59M (MD)

A senior lecturer in medicine at Harvard Medical School, Griner is a professor emeritus at the School of Medicine and Dentistry, where he also served as general director and CEO of Strong Memorial Hospital.



ARTS, SCIENCES, AND ENGINEERING: Honored this fall were Joseph Cunningham '67 (MA), Daniel Cantor '81, Gail Lione '71, Hugo Sonnenschein '61, Mike Jones '76, and Lynn Seppala '74 (PhD).



MEDICINE: Dean Mark Taubman (second from right) presented awards to Robert Sutherland '66M (PhD), Paul Griner '59M (MD), Barbara Simms, John Brewer '74M (MD), and Frank LoGerfo '66M (MD).

HUMANITARIAN AWARD

John Brewer '74M (MD)

A family practitioner for more than 30 years, Brewer served in impoverished areas of Africa and Appalachia and delivered care to urban poor residents and refugees in Michigan and Buffalo.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD

Barbara Simms

Simms has volunteered since 2004 as a "standardized patient" at the School of Medicine and Dentistry, helping medical students hone their diagnostic skills and improve their interpersonal relationships with patients.

ALUMNI SERVICE AWARD

Frank LoGerfo '66M (MD)

The retired chief of vascular surgery and chair of the Department of Surgery at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, LoGerfo is the William V. McDermott Distinguished Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School.

Simon School

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD

Carol Anthony (John) Davidson '885 (MBA) Davidson is senior vice president, controller, and chief accounting officer of Tyco International.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD

John Anderson '805 (MBA)

Anderson is the president of Northern Capital Group, a real estate development and investment company headquartered in Rochester and a part-time lecturer in finance at the Simon School.

ALUMNI SERVICE AWARD

Martin Stern '79, '805 (MBA)

Stern is a partner at K&L Gates, an international law firm with offices throughout the United States, Europe, and Asia.

School of Nursing

DEAN'S MEDAL

Jean Johnson

Johnson is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing and former associate director of oncology nursing at the Wilmot Cancer Center.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD Patricia Stone '97N (PhD)

Stone is a professor of nursing at Columbia University, where she directs the Center for Health Policy and the doctoral program.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD

Connie Lynn Leary '59N

A nurse and nursing educator, Leary taught at the Rochester School of Practical Nursing until her retirement in 1996.

Eastman Institute for Oral Health

DIRECTOR'S AWARD

Jack Howitt '56, '62M (Pdc)

Howitt is the founder and CEO of Midland Management, a real estate management firm, and its subsidiary, Midlakes Development & Construction. As an instructor at the University, Howitt helped design, establish, and direct the University's SMILEmobile program.



SIMON SCHOOL: Dean Mark Zupan (second from right) poses with the Simon School's award winners, Martin Stern '79, '80S (MBA) (left), John Anderson '80S (MBA), and John Davidson '88S (MBA) (right).





NURSING: Honored by the School of Nursing were Patricia Stone '97N (PhD), Jean Johnson, professor emerita of nursing, and Connie Lynn Leary '59N.

DENTISTRY: Eastman Institute for Oral Health Director Cyril Meyerowitz presented Jack Howitt '56, '62M (Pdc) with the Director's Award.