ANNUAL HONORS Recognizing Alumni and Friends

The University and its academic units honored several alumni and friends for their achievements and service this fall.

Arts, Sciences & Engineering

DEAN'S MEDAL Trustee Bernard (Bernie) Ferrari '70, '74M (MD) Ferrari is dean of Johns Hopkins

University's Carey Business School.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD, SCHOOL OF ARTS & SCIENCES Trustee Nancy Lieberman '77 Lieberman is a partner at the law firm of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD, HAJIM SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING Pandeli (Lee) Durbetaki '54 (MS) Durbetaki is a professor emeritus at Georgia Institute of Technology's George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering.

JAMES S. ARMSTRONG ALUMNI SERVICE AWARD Lawrence (Larry) Cohen '66 Larry Cohen is a board-certified radiologist, specializing in diagnostic radiology, at St. Vincent Medical Center in Los Angeles.

Jane Zimelis Cohen '67 Jane Zimelis Cohen is the strategic director of marketing for the American Cancer Society.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD H. Christopher Boehning '87, '88 (MS)

Boehning is a partner in the litigation department at the law firm of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison.

Eastman Institute for Oral Health

DIRECTOR'S AWARD Neil Hollyfield '78D

Neil Hollyfield is a partner and oral surgeon at the Marion, Va., private dentistry practice of Sukle, Hollyfield, Abbott & Perkins.

Nancy Hollyfield Nancy Hollyfield is chief executive officer and manager of Mountain

Empire Federal Credit Union in Marion.

Eastman School of Music

DEAN'S MEDAL Paul Judy

Judy is founder of the Symphony Orchestra Institute and the Orchestra Musician Forum, and chairman of the board of the Chicago Philharmonic Society.



AS&E: Joanna Olmsted, dean of the School of Arts and Sciences (clockwise from left), Richard Feldman, dean of the College, Jane Cohen '67, Larry Cohen '66, President Joel Seligman, Christopher Boehning '87, '88 (MS), Bernie Ferrari '70, '74M (MD), Provost Peter Lennie, Lee Durbetaki '54 (MS), Rob Clark, dean of the Hajim School and interim vice president for research, and Nancy Lieberman '77.



DENTISTRY: Bill Calnon '79D, acting director of the Eastman Institute for Oral Health, Neil Hollyfield '78D, Nancy Hollyfield, and Cyril Meyerowitz, past director of the institute.



EASTMAN: Douglas Lowry, the Joan and Martin Messinger Dean of the Eastman School of Music, and Paul Judy.



EASTMAN SCHOOL: Anna Lenhert '16E, Susan MacDonald Rose '65, the daughter of the late Doris Johnson Hults '41E, and her husband, Mark Rose '64.

LUMINARY AWARD Rayburn Wright '43E

The late Wright, a renowned arranger, composer, and conductor, taught at Eastman for 20 years, shaping the school's jazz program. He died in 1990.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD

Doris Johnson Hults '41E The late Hults was a harpist who performed for radio, motion pictures, and television from the 1940s through the 1960s. She died in 2010.

School of Medicine and Dentistry

DEAN'S MEDAL

Trustee Ernest Bates '62M (MD) Bates is is founder, chairman, and CEO of American Shared Hospital Services and a board-certified neurosurgeon.

ALUMNI SERVICE AWARD

Richard Burton '64M (Res) A former senior associate dean for academic affairs at the School of Medicine and Dentistry, Burton is the inaugural Marjorie Strong Wehle Professor in Orthopaedics.

HUMANITARIAN AWARD

Anthony Caldamone '81M (Res) Caldamone is director of the urology residency program and professor of surgery and pediatrics at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD Dorothy Bainton '60M (Res)

Bainton, a leader in academic pathology, is former vice chancellor of academic affairs at the University of California at San Francisco.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD

Marvin Hoffman '45, '50M (Res) Marvin Hoffman is a clinical professor emeritus at the School of Medicine and Dentistry and former senior medical director at Excellus Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Rochester. Nancy Yanes-Hoffman '50, '68 (MA) Nancy Yanes-Hoffman is an accomplished author, medical writer,

School of Nursing

and preventive health expert.

DEAN'S MEDAL Fay Whitney '60, '61N

Whitney is a professor emerita at the Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing at the University of Wyoming College of Health Sciences, and founder and former director of the Whitney Health and Wellness Center in Laramie, Wyo. DISTINGUISHED ALUMNA AWARD

Carol Brink '56N, '62N Brink is an associate professor emeritus at the School of Nursing.

Patricia Larrabee '77N (MS) Larrabee is founder and chief

executive officer of Rochester Clinical Research.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD Jonathan Terry

Founder of the Allergy Advocacy Association, Terry is principal grantor of the Terry Family Talent Foundation.

Simon School of Business

DEAN'S MEDAL

Trustee Mark Ain '675 (MBA) Ain is founder, chairman of the board, and former chief executive officer of Kronos Inc.

ALUMNI SERVICE AWARD Scott Gordon '84, '855 (MBA) Gordon is a partner in the law firm of

Kirkland & Ellis. DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD David Reh '67S (MBA)

Reh is founder of Gorbel Inc. and Retrotech Inc.

JOHN N. WILDER AWARD Alan Zekelman '875 (MS) Zekelman is a director of JMC Steel Group and the former president of Atlas Tube.



MEDICINE: Dean Mark Taubman, Marvin Hoffman '45, '50M (Res), Dorothy Bainton '60M (Res), Ernest Bates '62M (MD), Richard Burton '64M (Res), and Anthony Caldamone '81M (Res).



NURSING: Dean Kathy Rideout '95W (EdD), Carol Brink '56N, '62N, Fay Whitney '60, '61N, Jonathan Terry, and Patricia Larrabee '77N (MS).



SIMON SCHOOL: Dean Mark Zupan, Mark Ain '67S (MBA), David Reh '67S (MBA), Alan Zekelman '87S (MS), and Scott Gordon '84, '85S (MBA).