Advancement Awards

Eastman School of Music

We are proud to present you with these exceptional award winners.

Dean’s Medal

Established in 2008, the Dean’s Medal recognizes extraordinary service, philanthropy, and leadership to the School, and dedication and commitment that inspire others to take leadership roles at the University. Individuals, families, associations, corporations, or foundations may be recognized. It is among the highest honors given by the School.

2017: George W. Hamlin, IV

John N. Wilder Award

Established in 2008, the John N. Wilder Award honors an individual, family, association, corporation, or foundation whose philanthropy inspires others in support of an “Ever Better” University of Rochester. The award is named for John Wilder, first president (chairman) of the University’s Board of Trustees.

2012: Doris Johnson Hults ’41E

Eastman Distinguished Alumnus Award

Established in 1972 as the Alumni Achievement Award, the Distinguished Alumnus Award recognizes alumni whose exceptional professional achievements, contributions to their chosen field, and service to the Eastman School of Music have brought honor to themselves and to the University of Rochester.


Julia Bullock ’09E
Erin Hannigan ’96E (MM)
Albert G. Regni ’58E
Bob Ludwig ’66E, ’01E (MM)

2018: Donald Hunsberger ’54E, ’59E (MS), ’63E (DMA)

Eastman Luminary Award


Established in 2006, the Eastman Luminary Award recognizes individuals who have given extraordinary service to music and the arts at the community and national levels, and whose dedication and achievements set an example for Eastman School of Music students and alumni. The design of the Luminary Award is taken from the round window at the top of the staircase in the Eastman School’s Lowry Hall, seen by generations of students since the School opened in 1921.

2015: Salvatore Signorelli