Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Tools Search Main Menu

Alumni Gazette

HONORS & AWARDSAlumni, Faculty, and Guests Honored at 2016 Commencement

The University recognized 11 alumni, faculty, and special guests at this spring’s commencement ceremonies. On behalf of the University, President Joel Seligman and Provost Peter Lennie bestowed awards on each member of the group for teaching, scholarship, achievements, and service.

Honorary Doctor of Laws

  • Maggie Wilderotter, CEO of Frontier Communications, 2004–15.
  • Alan Zekelman ’87S (MS), director of Zekelman Industries.

Eastman Medal

  • Ed Hajim ’58, president of Diker Management and chair of the University Board of Trustees, 2008–2016.
  • Joseph Morelle, majority leader, New York State Assembly.

Charles Force Hutchison and Marjorie Smith Hutchison Medal

  • Larry Bloch ’75, former chair of TransWestern Publishing.
  • Richard Hodes ’82M (MD), medical director of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee.

William H. Ricker University Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

  • Richard Feldman, professor of philosophy and dean of the College.

Lifetime Achievement Award in Graduate Education

  • Duncan Moore ’74 (PhD), Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Professor in Optical Engineering Science and vice provost for entrepreneurship.

Edward Peck Curtis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • Andrew Berger, associate professor of optics and of biomedical engineering.

G. Graydon Curtis ’58 and Jane W. Curtis Award for Nontenured Faculty Teaching Excellence

  • Margarita Simon Guillory, assistant professor of religion.
  • Vera Tilson, associate professor of operations management.