University of Rochester

Class Notes

River Campus Undergraduate: 1990s

Reunion News

College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering classes celebrating reunions

October 6–8, 2006

Slater Society: All post-50th Reunion Classes
65th Reunion: 1941
60th Reunion: 1946
55th Reunion: 1951
50th Reunion: 1956
45th Reunion: 1961
40th Reunion: 1966
35th Reunion: 1971
30th Reunion: 1976
25th Reunion: 1981
20th Reunion: 1986
15th Reunion: 1991
10th Reunion: 1996
5th Reunion: 2001

More about Meliora Weekend

Dwayne Day writes, “I am now living in Berlin, Germany, where I run a river tour boat service. I left England last year after studying liturgical clowning. But I may be moving back to the States soon.” . . . Matt Haynos writes, “After living in various cities across the United States (Burlington, Vt.; Austin; Portland, Ore.; and San Diego), I’ve settled down in my beloved state of Connecticut, in Ridgefield. I have a lovely wife, Jennifer, and two sons, Peter, 6, and Aaron, 3. I still work for IBM in emerging business and technology initiatives and keep in touch with a lot of Rochester alums. E-mail me at matt (dot) haynos (at) gmail (dot) com.” . . . Emil Kang is executive director of the arts at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. . . . Aaron Reyes is a member of the physical sciences faculty at Otero Junior College in Denver, Colo. . . . Rob Weissman writes, “My wife, Ariana Calderon, and I are proud to announce the birth of our daughter, Rebecca Abigail, on October 17, 2005. Our 2-year-old son, Jeremy, is madly in love with his little sister, as are we.”

Jennifer Ingalls Bowie’s shop in Salem, Mass., The Picklepot, was named one of the Top 100 Retailers of American Craft in the United States by Niche magazine. Jennifer’s shop sells contemporary works by New England artists. . . . Haley Davis Melanson and her husband, Keith, announce the birth of their son, Hayden Reynolds, on April 10, 2005. . . . Carolyn Weisberger and Marc Mendelson were married on October 1, 2005, in Pittsburgh. Carolyn’s cousin, Andrew Kohn ’70, attended. Carolyn is counsel to the Pennsylvania Securities Commission and an adjunct professor at the University of Pittsburgh’s Katz School of Business, and Marc owns Mendelson Electric, an electrical contracting firm. They live in Pittsburgh.

Stephen Biggar was appointed to the board of directors of BioCryst Pharmaceuticals. Stephen is a principal at Baker Brothers Investments. . . . Gian Di Loreto writes, “We welcomed our third baby, Gian Giuseppe, on August 13, 2005. Gian Jr. joins his big sisters, Sofia, 5, and Nina, 3. We live outside Chicago, where I am running a small data quality and cleansing company. You can contact me and read about my company at” . . . Marc Esposito, an attorney with the law firm of Ford & Harrison in Atlanta, was named by his peers one of Georgia’s 2005 “Rising Stars” in Atlanta Magazine and Georgia Super Lawyers. . . . James Gebhardt is founder and president of the Gebhardt Group, a financial services firm in Lafayette, Calif. . . . John Kelly and Sara Woeppel were married on September 10, 2005, in Buffalo. John is an assistant attorney and chief of staff to Michael Battle, director of the Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys, and Sara is a physical therapist with GlaxoSmithKline. They live in Washington, D.C. . . . Frank Lallos ’93S (MBA) is chief financial officer of Invoke Solutions, an interactive research company in Wellesley, Mass. . . . Christine Murray received her doctor of philosophy degree from the University of Texas. She lives in Arlington. . . . Sue Slechta and Cory Stevenson were married on September 17, 2005. Steve ’93 and Sue Mucilli Syzdek and Eric Hadsell ’93 attended the wedding. Sue writes, “I am a postdoctoral fellow in the pathology department at the University of Utah School of Medicine. We live in Sandy, Utah. Anyone who wants to ski here is welcome to look me up!” . . . Karen Cherovsky Stone (see ’55).

Alison Miller writes, “I was honored with the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching last fall, for my work at the Career and Technical Education Center in Goshen, N.Y., where I teach college English and educational theory courses, and I’m now working with SUNY New Paltz, too, as an adjunct clinical professor of education. I’d love to hear from old friends! E-mail me at amiller (at) ouboces (dot) org.”

Jeff and Emily Clarey Baumgartner ’97 announce the birth of their son, Will. He joins his big brother, Max, 1 1/2. . . . Jonathan Rosen, a venture capitalist, is a coauthor of the article “Understanding Anti-Dilution Provisions in Convertible Securities,” which was published in the October 2005 issue of the Fordham Law Review. . . . David Streicher and Alyse Kornfeld were married on November 5, 2005, in Houston, Texas. David is an assistant vice president of capital markets at Rockwood Capital in Greenwich, Conn., and Alyse is a senior manager at Accenture, a New York consulting company.

William Houghton ’97S (MBA) (see ’98). . . . Kristen Johnson and Christopher Dygon were married on October 8, 2005, in Buffalo. Kristen is a legal associate with MassMutual Financial, and Christopher is a foreman with Stephen A. Roberts Landscape Construction & Design. They live in Springfield, Mass. . . . Steve Liberta is the general manager of Liberta’s Spirit Shoppe in Ridgefield, Conn., which has been in his family for 25 years. . . . Diana Marshak and David Gaffin were married on September 10, 2005, in Amenia, N.Y. Diana is an occupational therapist at Children’s Hospital in Boston, and David is an assistant general counsel at Biogen Idec, a biotechnology company in Cambridge, Mass. . . . Erin McReynolds writes, “I am a makeup artist living in New York City. Who knew a neuroscience degree would be so versatile? I’d like to send a shout-out to the Rochester gang. Where are you guys?”

Rachel Dickler Coker writes, “I am the editor of Inside BU, a weekly newspaper for faculty and staff members at SUNY Binghamton. My husband, Eric, and I took our daughter, Sophie, 1, to Rochester for the first time last summer. We met up with several other former Campus Times editors and thoroughly enjoyed walking around the campus. The highlight was finding a project Noah Loren had worked on for an engineering class that was still on display. Visit me online at” . . . Brooke Dunnigan (see ’68). . . . Shannon Joseph-Lopoukhine writes, “My husband, Dimitri, and I are happy to announce the birth of our daughter, Anna Natalia, on January 7, 2005. Anna was welcomed by her twin brothers, Max and Michael, who celebrated their second birthday on August 25, 2005.” . . . Randi Kruth and Frederick Wheeler were married on August 6, 2005, in Syracuse. Several alumni, including some of her Sigma Delta Tau sisters, attended: Asher and Julie Reisler Epstein ’97, Evan ’95 and Jennifer Braun Mallah ’97, Jennifer Ross ’97, Becky Noskow Morton, Helaine Klein ’97, and Joanna Poscover Schranz. Randi is a school psychologist, and Fred is a teacher and a coach. They live in Manlius, N.Y.

Emily Clarey Baumgartner (see ’94). . . . Shawn Biehler ’98 (MS) and Rebecca Long were married on August 5, 2005, in Geneva, N.Y. Shawn is a project manager at Corning-Tropel in Perinton, and Rebecca is a physical therapist at Southview Physical Therapy in Rochester. . . . Marie Castro and Mark Russell were married on September 24, 2005, in Fawn Lake, Va. Alumni in attendance included Sally Irurueta ’98, ’99W (MS), Adam Glazer, and Laurie Fischer, who was a bridesmaid. Marie is president of Bordeaux Events, an event-planning company, and Mark is an owner and art director of Island Xpertees Screenprinters. They live in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. . . . Deborah Gurell and Kevin Baldwin ’00 were married on July 3, 2005, at the University’s Interfaith Chapel. Deborah is an independent-living skills teacher for adults with brain injuries at Jewish Family Services, and Kevin is an elementary-school teacher with the Rochester City School District. . . . Laura Kappy (see ’98). . . . Rich Scigaj ’98S (MBA) writes, “My wife, Melissa Naulin, and I are excited to announce the birth of our son, Evan William, on May 19, 2005. Everyone is healthy and happy. I am a financial analyst supervisor at ITT Industries in Alexandria, Va., and Melissa is an assistant curator at the White House.”

Josh Blumkin and Laura Kappy ’97 were married on October 10, 2004, in Rochester. “Three generations of Rochester students attended,” they write, including Matthew Stanley, David (Snacks) Fenkel ’97, Michael Joseloff ’95, Dennis Cohen ’97, Ryan Overbeck, Sasha (Ace) Harris ’95, Jason (Mongo) Bartholomew ’96, Kiel Davis ’97, Janelle Akin Stanley, Rachel Holz ’96, Julie Pasquinelli ’96, Robert Breiman ’69, ’73M (MD), Daniel Blumkin ’69, ’73M (MD), Melanie Wolf ’99, and Laura Shortz Delehanty ’97, ’00W (MS), as well as Kate Eisenberg, a current student at the School of Medicine and Dentistry. . . . Renee Kazukiewicz and William Houghton ’95, ’97S (MBA) announce the birth of their daughter, Ashlyn Noelle, on May 23, 2005. “Thanks to all who sent gifts or cards of congratulations,” they write. “Willie continues to work for IBM in Somers, N.Y., while Renee is enjoying some time off to be with Ashlyn.” . . . Lindsay Greene Koenig writes, “Last summer, I left Dartmouth Medical School’s development office as an event planner to start my own event-planning business, Forevergreenevents, in the New England area. I’d love to offer alums discounts! I can be reached at forevergreenevents (at) verizon (dot) net.”

Alexandra Babian and Joseph Lippens were married on June 26, 2004. Alumni in attendance included Ryan Bolton, Christian Harrison ’97, David Mandell, Tami Rude, Andrew Brown ’00, Amanda Juszczyk Trotti, Christine Buchanan, and Gary Liotta. . . . Joshua Boxer and Jessica Rayson were married on May 29, 2005, in Key West, Fla. Joshua is the son of Harriet Siegel Boxer ’68 and nephew of Naomi Siegel ’72, and Jessica is the daughter of John Rayson ’71, granddaughter of Barbara Chandler Rayson ’45, and grandniece of Glenn Rayson ’39, Delwyn Rayson ’41, and Leland (Ennis) Rayson ’44. . . . Laura Kelley and Robert Wagner were married on September 18, 2005, in Cheektowaga, N.Y. Laura is an attorney with the Niagara County Department of Social Services, and Robert is a part-time instructor and auto shop technician at Niagara College. They live in Royalton, N.Y. . . . Hannah Montague writes, “Eric Choi and I were married on Cape Cod on August 21, 2005. It was an absolutely perfect day, and we shared it with some of my closest friends from Rochester: Laura Beck Stukenborg ’00W (MS), Meredith Parmele, Melissa Mascali, Rachel Krinsky Rudnick, Megan Uhlmann-Shaw, and Donna Chralowicz.” . . . Carrie Morgan is an attorney with the Cincinnati law firm Dinsmore & Shohl, in the intellectual property litigation department. . . . Pamela Rosenberg and Matthew Shaw were married on November 26, 2005, in New York City. Pamela is a product manager for the Museum of Modern Art’s retail stores, and Matthew is a director of technology practice at Time Warner Cable in Stamford, Conn.