University of Rochester

University Professor, Physician Awarded Fulbright Grants

February 13, 1998

A physics professor at the University of Rochester and a physician at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry have received J. William Fulbright scholar grants for the current academic year.

Ashok K. Das, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, began his eight-month stay at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro in Brazil in January. Das's research and lectures are focusing on integrable models and the finite temperature field theory. Das will be writing research papers in collaboration with others while in Brazil.

Das has been on the University faculty since 1982. He holds bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Delhi, India, and a doctorate in physics from SUNY Stony Brook. In 1983, Das received the Outstanding Junior Investigator Award for research on high energy physics by the U.S. Department of Energy. In 1987 and 1990, Das was awarded the Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. In 1991, Das received the University's Edward Peck Curtis Teaching Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Dr. Ronald M. Epstein, an associate professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Psychiatry at the University's School of Medicine and Dentistry and a practicing family physician at Highland Hospital, began his five-month stay at the Institute of Health in Barcelona, Spain, last October. His work concentrates on behavioral science and medical education. In collaborating with other Spanish family physicians, Epstein is exploring methods to improve patient and doctor communication with the changing health care system in Spain. He is also a visiting professor in Cordoba and Santander.

Currently, Epstein is director of predoctoral education in the Department of Family Medicine. Recently, he received the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Generalist Physician Faculty Scholars Award. The University named Epstein a George Engel and John Romano Dean's Teaching Scholar in honor of his contributions to education.

Through a vigorous review process, the Fulbright Program awards grants to deserving scholars to participate in an educational exchange. The program strives to improve education by promoting a global curriculum.