University of Rochester

University Students Honored As 2008 Iota Book Award Recipients

December 1, 2008

The University of Rochester's Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, along with deans of the College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering, have announced the 2008 Iota Book Award winners. Eighteen sophomores, among a class of 1,100 students, are being recognized for their scholarly achievement, demonstration of humanistic values, involvement in co-curricular activity, and leadership potential during their first year at the University. In addition to evaluating academic records, the award committee collected nominations from professors, administrators, and College staff members.

The recipients of this year's award are Paul Alperin, Gregory Bentsen, Jacqueline Cinella, Heather Dell, Maya Dukmasova, Francis Ferraro, Yaneve Fonge, Alexander Hunstad, Brittany Hylen, Stephen Keeley, Donald Polaski, Sarah Potter, Aaron Roth, Maruf Sarwar, Patrick Sheehan, Marek Slipski, Benjamin Yezer, and Yayi Zhang.

"During the selection process, we received glowing letters from faculty and staff, speaking of these students' many achievements," said Gerald Gamm, president of the Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa and chair of the Department of Political Science. "The students on this list are highly accomplished in a range of fields; this is an extraordinary group of students."

The students will be honored during a formal ceremony on Tuesday, Dec. 2 at 7:00 p.m. in the Welles-Brown Room of Rush Rhees Library. The event is hosted by Phi Beta Kappa's Iota Chapter, the University's oldest honor society, and is open to members of the University community.