Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.

Seven University trustees move to life status

May 19, 2017

At the May meeting of the University’s Board of Trustees, Chair Danny Wegman and President and CEO Joel Seligman recognized seven trustees who have completed their active service to the Board and who now become life trustees.

The seven trustees served on the Board for a combined 96 years across three University presidencies.  Their service and philanthropy supported the creation of numerous new facilities, scholarships, professorships, and other initiatives throughout all areas of the University.  Most recently, they provided crucial leadership during The Meliora Challenge, the largest fundraising effort in the University’s history.

“It’s been my privilege to work with these exceptional leaders,” said Wegman. “These incredibly dedicated, insightful, and collegial Board members have continued to move this great institution forward.”

“I am deeply grateful to each of these individuals for their enormous and enduring commitment to the University and the Board,” said Seligman. “Their contributions have been invaluable as we have worked together to strengthen the University.”

The following board members are now life trustees: 

William M. Carpenter was elected to the Board in 1997 and has served on many Board committees, including the last 13 years as chair of the Committee on Audit and Risk Assessment.  He is chair of the Warner School National Council and past chair of the Warner School Campaign Cabinet.  He has been a member of the Laboratory for Laser Energetics Visiting Committee since 2005 and served as its chair from 2007 to 2012.  With his spouse, Mary Christine Carpenter, he created the William and Mary Carpenter Scholarship at the Warner School to promote educational opportunities for teachers in Rochester. 

Arunas A. Chesonis ’91S (MBA), ’04 (Honorary) was elected in 2007 and has served on the Board’s Committees on Academic Affairs, Facilities, and Research and Innovation.  Chesonis and his spouse, Pamela Chesonis, created the Chesonis Entrepreneurial Scholarship for full-time MBA students interested in entrepreneurship.  He supports entrepreneurship at the University through service on the board of the student-run Simon School Venture Capital Fund; support of the University’s tech transfer entity, URVentures; and engagement in High Tech Rochester, a University affiliate and incubator for high-tech start-up companies.

David M. Flaum, a board member since 2007, has served on the Board’s Committees on Health Affairs and Strategic and Financial Planning.  He continues to serve on the Medical Center Board and the Flaum Eye Institute Advisory Board, of which he has been a member for more than 20 years.  The Flaum Eye Institute, a national leader in vision care, research, and education, was established with support from Flaum and his spouse, Ilene Flaum, to promote excellence in research and medical care.

John M. Kelly has served on the Board’s Committees on Academic Affairs and Research and Innovation since his election in 2011.  He is also a member of the Simon Advisory Council and of the Laboratory for Laser Energetics Visiting Committee, where he served as chair for the past four years.  Kelly and his spouse, Donna Kelly, have provided philanthropic support to the Medical Center, Eastman School of Music, and the Simon Business School.

Louis G. Lange ’70 a board member since 1997, has served on numerous Board committees, including service as chair of the Committee on Health Affairs from 2002 to 2005, and as chair of the Committee on Research and Innovation from 2010 to 2015.  He was a member of the San Francisco Bay Regional Cabinet and is a current member of the Aab CVRI Advisory Board.  Lange has supported Arts, Sciences and Engineering through the creation of the Louis and Dorothy Lange Professorship in Chemistry.

Hugo F. Sonnenschein ’61 joined the board in 1992.  He has served on many Board committees and chaired the Committee on Academic Affairs for the past 15 years.  Sonnenschein was co-chair of the Arts, Sciences and Engineering Campaign and chair of the Chicago Regional Cabinet, and he is a member of the Arts, Sciences and Engineering National Council.  For many years, he has moderated the Presidential Symposia on Great Issues in the 21st Century during Meliora Weekend.  He and his spouse, Beth Sonnenschein ’61, ’62N, have provided philanthropic support to Arts, Sciences and Engineering, the dance program, and the School of Nursing.

James C. Wyant ’67 (Mas), ’69 (PhD) has served on the Committees on Academic Affairs and Research and Innovation since his election in 2012.  He is a member of the Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Science’s Dean’s Advisory Committee and the Optics Blue Ribbon Panel.  He is a recipient of the Hajim School’s Distinguished Alumnus Award.  Wyant’s generous support of the Institute of Optics created both the M. Parker Givens Professorship and the Dr. James C. Wyant Professorship in Optics.


Category: University News