Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Tools Search Main Menu

Graduate Education

Robert L. And Mary L. Sproull University Fellowships

Robert L. And Mary L. Sproull

The Sproull Fellowship is the most prestigious fellowship awarded by the University of Rochester.

Robert L. Sproull (1918-2014) was a distinguished physicist and the University's seventh president. While in office, he oversaw significant growth of degree programs, faculty size, laboratories, hospital facilities, and other campus structures. The fellowship program named in his honor reflects his commitment to intellectual excellence.

Each year there is a University-wide competition for the ten to twelve Sproull Fellowships awarded to incoming students who pursue a doctoral degree at the University of Rochester. All Ph.D. programs may select nominees for the Sproull Fellowship from among those who have applied for admission. A committee of faculty members evaluates those nominated, and the final selection is made by theĀ University Dean of Graduate Studies.

The careers of Sproull Fellows testify to the program's success. Many are now faculty members at highly ranked universities, including Yale, Duke, Cornell, and Stanford, among several others. However, Sproull Fellows' careers have brought them to a wide variety of institutions outside academia, including the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, the World Bank, Microsoft, Corning, the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, and the NASA Ames Research Center.

PhD Fellowships text over statue of an owl

Make a Gift